We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reptile Gardens

Reptile Gardens
8955 S Hwy 16, Rapid City, SD 57709
605-342-5873
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 53 things to do in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World-renowned adventure park, Reptile Gardens is a must-see family attraction no matter what your age. We maintain the finest collection of tropical plants, colorful flowers, and exotic reptiles anywhere - we have more species and subspecies of venomous reptiles than any other zoo or park in the world!
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The whole family REALLY enjoyed Reptile Gardens. The price is reasonable for all that you get. As soon as you get there check the show times for the birds, snakes and alligators. You will definitely want to check these out as they are very entertaining and informative. There are numerous other displays that are well kept and informative. The gift shop is well stocked and there are also many places to get food/drink. Definitely recommend!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    273
    74
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Definitely worth going...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were here July 2012. It was a very hot day and there was so much to see! Make sure you find out the showtimes [they will inform you at entrance - very helpful] and then plan your day around that. We saw the snake show, bird show and alligator show - all were amazing, funny and informative!

The prairie dogs, tortises and indoor areas can be seen around show times. We thought it was a great day and the grounds are beautiful. There's a little kid play area too if you need to take a break from the walking or stroller sitting.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I've traveled to Reptile Gardens on multiple occasions. This time, like always, I had a great time. I loved seeing all the different animals and reptiles. Of course, this late in the year it was limited what we could see but it was still a blast. Just don't get beat by the chicken at tic-tac-toe or you will never live it down!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Whodathought?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Saw billboards & figured it had to be a little like "Bedrock" in AZ. Not so! Amazing collection of reptiles. Gorgeous snakes, Komodo dragon, monitor lizards. Very pretty grounds. A great experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You don't have to have kids to enjoy it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My first trip to Reptile Gardens was more than 40 years ago! I have enjoyed taking my kids and look forward to taking grandkids one day. In the meantime, my husband and I continue to appreciate the return of a sense of wonderment when we visit. (I have always been fascinated by reptiles so it is a natural for me).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reptile Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Reptile Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reptile Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.