We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool American sight.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Rushmore Black Hills Gold Factory Tour

Mt. Rushmore Black Hills Gold Factory Tour
2707 Mt. Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 30 Activities in Rapid City
Type: Factory Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
pine hill, nj
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“A cool American sight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Many people manage to go to DC and take in the history of America. That being said not many get the opportunity to go to Mt. Rushmore. It's an amazing sight and so much more impressive in person then on tv. I loved walking through the museum and learning all about how it was conceived and created. It should definitely niot be missed if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    25
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Take the tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We took the tour mainly to get the discount, but at the end we were both glad we did. It really was interesting. And you get 10% off any purchase it you do. Make sure and check out clearance cabinets on the opposite wall in their display area. My wife found several Christmas presents there. And we ended up replacing our wedding rings with new Black Hills Gold rings!! Nope, we're not gonna talk about how much we spent, but the stuff is quality, and hand made right there, andyou get to watch the process.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Nice factory tour and jewelry selction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We took the factory tour and it was very interesting. My wife had never seen how jewelry is made and the guide did a great job taking us around the shop. we learned many interesting facts, such as how they actually turn in their carpet for the gold dust in it and that actually is worth enough to pay for new carpets throughout the factory. Sales staff knowlegable and helpful and the items are reasonably priced.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Proud to be in America!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

my first roadtrip with my boyfriend and the state of South Dakota was awesome. We even played a scratch off lottery ticket there and won $50. Alittle cash infusion is always nice!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Amazing !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This should be on everyones bucket list. The details on the sculptures are Amazing! The walk way with all the state flags make for a nice picture. Go for the walk ( it will take you below the monuments) but go from the left side as you enter. There are less steps to climb. If you go from the right side there are more steps to climb. The walk is a definite must do. It is not that far. You get a different perspective and nice photo opp. Both my husband and myself enjoyed visiting this monument.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Rushmore Black Hills Gold Factory Tour also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Rushmore Black Hills Gold Factory Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Rushmore Black Hills Gold Factory Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.