We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cave” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hills Caverns

Black Hills Caverns
2600 Cavern Rd, Hwy. 44, Rapid City, SD
605-343-0542
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 33 attractions in Rapid City
Type: Caverns/ Caves
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Tour the biggest crystal cave in the Black Hills area and see a variety of rock formations.
Mauckport, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Cave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This cave is tucked away and a little hard to find but it is a very nice cave. Worth the drive! Very friendly staff.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    4
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

If you have always wondered about spelunking, this place might be a good first time experience. NO, we did NOT have a personal guide with us. She just showed us the beginning and gave
us the "brochure". However, the brochure proved to be very well written and the cave path well marked. There is the beginners trip (30 min) or the "adventurers" trip (1 hour). At sixty years of age, I needed a bit more time than that, but it didn't matter. We were in the middle of the second level and my wife's arm began to hurt her, so we turned back and went back to the "beginners" path. She had hurt herself in a previous mishap, so this didn't have anything to do with our trip. You can easily turn around if it gets to be too much for you. There is a lot to see. I thought I would be susceptible to claustrophobia, but these caves, although tight in places afford enough room and are very airy and cool (about 50F). In all, we found the place novel and would recommend anyone curious about caves to give it a try. The "adventurers" level does involve a good bit of stair climbing. There are railings, so you can hold on, so if your knees are in good shape, you can easily take this on. The beginners path is much easier.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't go here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I went her in July and i have to say it was one of the worst experiences of my life. My tour guide was only like 12 years old, she knew absolutely nothing about the formations in the cave. Every time i asked a question she would stutter and say I don't really know. Not to mention that they didn't have really bathrooms, they were nasty outhouses that obviously hadn't been cleaned in a week and there was no running water.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great caves ... but tours are unescorted.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have been through a number of caves and this was a great cave to explore with the family. The only down side was you are given a booklet which guides you through the caves and you have to read to your group. Would be much better to have a guide to explain things to you and point things out or even an automated headset. Price was fine and it was not a far drive from Rapid City.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoyed the tour of the cave. It was very cool in the cave so bring a jacket but guide was informative and knowledgeable. Much better then some of the other caves in the area. It was worth the reasonable entry price.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hills Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Black Hills Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hills Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Black Hills Caverns to your Saves list