We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was scared” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Country USA

Bear Country USA
13820 S Hwy 16, Rapid City, SD 57702
605 343 2290
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 34 attractions in Rapid City
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy a leisurely 3-mile drive through this unique North American Wildlife park nestled on 250 acres of Black Hills Beauty. From the comfort of your vehicle view black bears, wolves, elk, buffalo and other wildlife! After your drive-through tour, walk around Babyland where young and smaller animals frolic in the outdoors. Dine at the Cub Grub Snack Shack or shop in the Bear’s Den Gift Shop.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Anywhere,USA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“I was scared”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Kids enjoy this place..and adults too.

Large gift-shop.

Still has the old school, drive-thru park ability. Hard to find this anymore.

Used to ride 3-wheelers near Bear Country as a kid.

The baby-cubs are big attraction.

If you are in the Hills during the warm weather months, you have to go here at least once in your life-time.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear_Country_1972, Owner at Bear Country USA, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for your review, driving through in your own vehicle and seeing the animals up close is quite a bit of fun for kids. 3-wheelers! We had some of those too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    270
    90
    26
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great ride through, gift shop, and small animal zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a great, fun experience at Bear Country when we decided to check it out. We got to see so many cool animals, bears, mountain lions, reindeer, and even moose! Also, after our ride through, we visited their small animal zoo and saw cute cubs and also a lot of other cool small animals! The gift shop was also great with a huge selection of fun souvenirs and also a snack bar and cafe right there too! Bear Country was great experience in the Black Hills!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear_Country_1972, Owner at Bear Country USA, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you had a great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love Bear Country!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I visited Bear Country in May 2012 and we fell in love! The drive through the park is wonderful! It was amazing to be so close to the bears and watch their interaction with each other. We had such a great time that we ended up going back the next day. I was sad to realize that we had missed Cubfest by a month but that also helped us decide when to go back in 2013! So very excited about our trip this April to get to experience every aspect of the park! It's an easy and fun place to spend a full day watching the baby bears antics in their "playground". Getting out and walking around after the drive through is a definite MUST!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear_Country_1972, Owner at Bear Country USA, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for all the photos you posted!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Might be nice for children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have been to a few wildlife parks where you can drive around and see animals not in cages like in a zoo, but this one had just certain animals in the driving parts, you felt rushed because there was no where to pull over to take pics or just to look because of the line of cars behind you. They also have an area to walk around to see other animals in compoundments, but hard to see them, they are far away from where you stand to view them. I think children would enjoy this more, getting to see animals outside your car windows.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear_Country_1972, Owner at Bear Country USA, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for Visiting us and for your Review. We apologize for the line of cars you encountered that day, that can happen during our busy hours which are 4-5 hours during the middle of the day. There is some ability and we try to tell visitors they can pull off to the right to take pictures. Our Babyland area where you can walk around is a hit with the children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Awesome Animals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I drove through this amazing animal park while visiting his family and we loved it! You get to see all the animals in the park up close and personal. It was November when we went so some animals weren't out anymore (the more warm weather ones) but I certainly don't feel like we missed out. My favorite was the 'baby' section and the Arctic Foxes there. They were all so adorable! The park is easy to navigate and paved all the way through. It's funny to watch the bears try to figure a way across the cattle grids (they didn't cross them!) and the wolves were beautiful....all the animals were. There is a gift shop with nice bathrooms, but there didn't seem to be a whole lot in there, probably because of the season. I would definitely go there again!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear_Country_1972, Owner at Bear Country USA, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for visiting us. We appreciate your review and are glad you had a good time. In November the animals are putting on their winter coats, sometimes we jokingly refer to it as a fashion show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Country USA also viewed

 

Been to Bear Country USA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Country USA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bear Country USA to your Saves list