We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rushmore Shadows Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rushmore Shadows Resort
Save
You added Rushmore Shadows Resort to your Saves list
Rapid City, SD   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

this place is wonderful. Children of all ages will love it here. we stayed over the fourth fo july 2012.
we stayed for the presentation, was great no pressure to buy. saved a lot of money. clean restrooms, showers, laundry and the pool was wonderful. we will go back this year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
16
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atwater, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stumbled across Rushmore Shadows 3 years ago while staying at another campground during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally and decided due to location to give it a try. 2011 was our first time staying. We were tenting and found the tent sites (choose your own) to be really nice. There were picnic tables at most locations, and fire pits. If your chosen site did not have a fire ring, they were more than happy to accommodate you and bring you one ! Was super impressed with the facilities - bathrooms/shower area used was the one at the club house...Fabulous ! Only downfall was that in this particular aea there are only two showers - more available at another shower house not far from this one.

We again chose to stay at the Shadows for the 2012 Rally. We had purchased a large pop-up last fall so brought that along instead of tenting. We had checked out the pop-up sites in 2011 and decided to pay the extra and go with a full service site. The pop-up sites look to be on the smaller side and we like a bit of sun - these sites are nice and shady though if that's what your looking for !

Was very happy with the site that we choose to stay in. Plenty of room for camper, truck, and motorcycle. The staff was very accommodating even getting us ramps to unload our bike so we didn't have to look for a place to unload.

We have discovered, though, that the best time to use the pool area if you are an adult and want to swim without getting run over in the pool by kiddies having fun is from 11-3ish...super nice and quiet around these times. It's Not a huge pool but always super clean and very well kept. Hot tub could be bigger but it works ! Have made the suggestion that there should be an adult swim time in the PM vs 9-10 in the morning..like 9-11 at night would be better !

Truly missed not being able to have campfires in any way shape or form this year due to the state wide fire ban - not even charcoal grills were allowed - totally understandable due to the extensive drought.

Overall I really enjoy this Resort. Our "preferred" camping spot we could not have...I guess it's designated for campers in the 30' range...though the people that came in after us that had this spot were in a smaller motor home...definitely not over 30'..was one of the small driveables so it might have been close..maybe next year !

I have suggested this campground/resort to several people since our first visit and one of the couples actually bought into their "timeshare" type of ownership this year !...would LOVE to at least be able to get our favorite spot for bringing them in customers who join !..

We will be making our reservations soon for next year - don't forget to ask about discounts ! We receive the Military Discount ...might also be others for AARP, AAA, etc but not so sure.

I would suggest if your tenting to choose the tenting area that is just to the south of spots 1-13 on their map - super nice spots...sun and shade...clean...and not far from club house, showers, and pool !

Room Tip: Tenting excellent area just behind spots 1-13. Pay the difference if in a pop-up and get a full ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RushmoreShadows, Owner at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your vacation at Rushmore Shadows Resort; the Rally is so much fun! Your comments are appreciated and have been shared with the staff. There are a couple of things you mentioned that we are very interested in implementing in 2013. We hope you'll come back to see us next year...and bring your friends along! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We just stayed at this resort in a tent for 5 nights! I'm not a tent camper but did absolutely fine! Clean showers, laundry, clubhouse to get you away from weather if needed, very friendly helpful staff. I recommend this place especially if you want to tour on bike. You can easily get to all locations! Away from hustle bustle but easy to get places!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend so that our family could see Mount Rushmore, etc. We decided to take this trip because we had purchased a new camper and had received a voucher to stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort for free. They contacted us, I am assuming they got our name from the RV dealership, and explained that we would have to sit through a 90 minute presentation and that was it, so we decided to go.
To there credit, when we got there, they seemed very nice. We checked in and stayed for two days with no problem. We did not use many of their facilities, but the stay wasn't bad. UNTIL we went to the 90 minute presentation. We sat through the whole presentation, at which point they tried to get us to buy into their company similar to a time-share, not a surprise because we had been told. What we didn't expect was their hostility when we explained that it sounded good, but we were unable to do so right now because we are a family with four kids living on one small income and it was just impossible. We were told that they didn't know how we could have been invited to stay with them as they try to screen people like us out. Yes, we were told this, and then we were hustled out of the door as fast as they could get us out. I have never been treated so rudely in my life. We knew some people that might really be interested in what they have to offer and asked, during the course of the interview, if we might be able to get them this information and were ignored. I believe it very short-sighted of them to treat those who are less-affluent as scum to be gotten rid of as quickly as possible. While it is a well-known fact that all business's primary objective is to make money, I personally would not want to spend a dime at any facility where the management has absolutely no other aim than to milk every last penny out of people in the name of being a family-friendly, caring company. (and yes, they do say they are very family friendly, touting the activities their group lines up for the children in the summer-time, etc). Their "one-time", "transferable" fee for what they were offering was as much as a small car payment. During the interview, we thought it might have sounded like a worth-while investment if we could have afforded it. However, if we had all the money in the world, this is now the last place we would spend our money!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I've stayed here several times over the last few years and think it's great. Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, and excellent accomodations. Only thing is that I wish they'd include dishes for cooking in the cabins, but I guess it's some state health code that prevents it.

Anyway, close to the monument and not too far from town if you needed to run to the store.

Will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Bring your own dishes and cookware if you're staying in a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thanks for visiting Rushmore Shadows Resort. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota.
Hope to see you again soon.-travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in our Class C motor home. We went for a long weekend and picked the right time to go. This was our first time staying there. The staff was great and very helpful. We arrived after the office was closed, and Dave came to help us. While I was on the phone with Dave, another staff member stopped to see how they could be of assistance to us. We let them know that Dave was on his way. Dave had us choose a site for the night that worked out wonderfully. In the morning, we moved to another site without any hassles; Gina was extremely helpful. There is an older area they are trying to update (older showers, etc.), but the newer section is beautiful (bathrooms, showers, club house, etc.). The location of this place was fantastic. We were within 30 minutes or less to most places we wanted to see. We will stay at this location whenever we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We will not be going as first time customer or any other time as this resort does not tell the truth about there plan. Was told would be able to use free gift while there did not say had to come back in 14 days. this is to many miles to do twice. not good people to deal with

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rushmore Shadows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushmore Shadows Resort

Address: Rapid City, SD
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 101
Also Known As:
Rushmore Shadows Hotel Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rushmore Shadows Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.