We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty big portions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Phoenix

Golden Phoenix
2421 W. Main St., Rapid City, SD 57702
(605) 348-4195
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 213 Restaurants in Rapid City
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Brugge, Belgium
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Tasty big portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We, 4 people have choosen for the family dinner, with appetizers, soup and 4 entrees. All were good and the portions are really big. With the rests, we had enough for our lunch, the next day. Prices are very reasonable. Recommended. We tried the housewine, it was not bad, but nothing special too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Perhaps American Chinese is WAY different than Canadian Chinese food, but nonetheless the food was most definitely subpar. It came out cold, and all the dishes tasted the same. The chicken and meat where heavily breaded, and they were both tough.
Not impressed to say the least!! Would not recommend anyone to go there!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We weren't sure why this place was featured in our South Dakota guidebook when we pulled into its parking lot. The book said they had vegetarian options, which was better than most of the other places in Rapid City, so we went for it. This place exceeded out expectations. The food was good, cheap, copious, and quick. Tasty vegetarian food. Our waitress was unbelievably friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Chinese in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is my favorite Chinese restaurant in town. Don't miss the hot and sour soup. They have won awards for it!

Other favorites: Shrimp with black bean sauce, Kung Pao Chicken, Sesame Chicken, House Chicken, Chicken Wings, Crab Rangoon, and Lo Mein.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler, arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

An unexpected pleasure to have great chinese food in South Dakota! The Hot & Sour soup and shrimp dishes are expecially good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Phoenix also viewed

 

Been to Golden Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.