We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Creek Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Summer Creek Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Summer Creek Inn & Spa
23204 Summer Creek Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have stayed in a lot of bed and breakfasts and I must say this is one of the best! This bed and breakfast in South Dakota has great rooms. They are all very big and luxurious. Dan and Nancy pampered us and made us feel welcome. They even took the extra step of helping us plan out our days with different activities that are a must see when you visit the Black Hills and Mt. Rushmore. I would recommend this inn to anyone!

Thanks Dan and Nancy for everything!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    7
    1
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
169
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vernon hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Having never been to a B&B before, we tried to do a lot of research going into this trip so we did not wind up in some musty place. Dan and Nancy have created an oasis that is very relaxing, charming, and truly does feel like home. Our room was large, with the most comfortable bed in the world and we had a luxurious bathroom and private hot tub - all of it well maintained and clean. Dan and Nancy are wonderful about incorporating people into conversation in the morning although I must confess talking is the last thing on my mind in the morning - I'm more concerned about stuff my face with the delicious food that is prepared! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This Inn is beautiful, nicely furnished, good beds and linens, but I am giving only two stars because our first night was truly miserable due to a VERY noisy heater that we could not turn off; the thermostat controls several rooms and was locked (as another reviewer mentioned). In addition, the innkeepers treated us as if we were somehow at fault for this (as if we would make it up...). One innkeeper grumbled, "Hundreds of people have slept in that room without a problem." We were told we should have awakened the innkeepers...there are no phones in the rooms, no cell coverage, and when we knocked at their door several times, we got no answer. We felt that, under the circumstances, because we got all of two hours of sleep with the aid of earplugs, sleeping pills, and pillows on our heads, the innkeepers should have comped us for that night, but they did not do so. So, no stars for customer service. The room to avoid is Suite 8 (although the sign on its door says Suite 10) on the 3rd floor. We moved to a room on the first floor for the remainder of our stay, which was fine. Additionally, the inn has no elevators, has spotty, at best, wifi coverage, and is located 15-30 minutes away from restaurants. The exception is a dinner (steak) house that is 4 miles away. There is a $12.00 per person extra charge for breakfast at the Inn--if there had been any other close options, we would have opted out, as the food was tasty, but was more than we needed, and seemed heavy on fat and sweeteners. Be prepared to dine with other guests and to have the innkeepers hang out with you during the meal.

Room Tip: Stay off the third floor if you are a light sleeper--very noisy HVAC system
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri
Level Contributor
211 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Two years ago my husband and I had the great luck of staying at the Summercreek Inn. Sometimes the first impression is so very wonderful and then the second time round things begin to tarnish. NOT IN THIS CASE!!! The place is every bit as beautiful as before, if not better the garden in the back (maybe still in progress) but is already a work of art. The breakfasts are top notch. Nancy you better get to work on a cookbook. The bed is great, the sheets are like floating on a cloud. Nancy and Dan are so very friendly and helpful. The place is Spotless! The movie room is a plus I have never seen before in a B&B with popcorn No Less!! But I have saved the best for last THE SHOWER. I wish I could steal it. Thanks Nancy and Dan for once again giving us a beautiful stay.

Room Tip: No tip needed I don't think you could find a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We avoid hotels whenever possible and stay at boutique Inns or B&B's. We do not care for stuffy, cluttered Victorians. The Summer Creek Inn is the BEST place we have ever stayed. The rooms are amazing...comfortable, chic with many amenities. The home is beautifully decorated and we had access to so many of the rooms. We enjoyed a movie one night after a day of site seeing in the theater room. The patios (front and back) are beautiful. The Inn Keepers are so friendly but not hovering...they made us feel very welcome and so special. We will definitely be back and have told anyone traveling to the Hills to take a look at The Summer Creek Inn. The value is exceptional and the food is excellent. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6...it was gorgeous and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recently stayed at Summer Creek Inn and were so glad we did! Innkeepers Nancy and Dan have developed a luxurious inn nestled amongst the Black HIlls. Each suite is beautifully appointed with all modern amenities. The inn itself was built by Dan and decorated by Nancy, which only adds to its warmth and charm. For an extra nominal fee, you can opt for breakfast at the inn each morning. Don't expect your usual scrambled eggs and toast...envision a pastry encrusted baked pear, egg souffle with vegetables, freshly baked blueberry scones and southwestern quiche to name a few of their gourmet treats. Breakfast is a great opportunity to meet the other guests and to chat with Nancy and Dan, who sit with their guests each morning to answer questions, ask about your plans for the day and give suggestions on where to go. If you are headed to the Black HIlls, there is no other place to stay than Summer Creek Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms are sound proof. The two suites on the third floor are the largest. The suites on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

It is hard to expand on the previous reviews, so I will just concur that Summer Creek Inn is simply one of the best B&B here or anywhere. Large, first class bedrooms and public areas, very enjoyable hosts, and wonderful breakfasts. The Inn even seems to attract the nicest guests, all of which we had wonderful breakfast conversations with.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.8 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#1 of 11 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
17.4 mi away
Cambria Suites Rapid City
Cambria Suites Rapid City
#1 of 52 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
9.7 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#10 of 11 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
17.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Creek Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Creek Inn & Spa

Address: 23204 Summer Creek Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your senses with a luxurious stay at Summer Creek Inn & Spa centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills of SD. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse memorial and all the major attractions and activities in the Black Hills. Uniquely designed with unexpected comforts, the inn is perfect for weddings, reunions, corporate retreat or that perfect vacation. Enjoy gourmet breakfast, in-room fireplaces, private whirlpools, hot tubs, theater, or relax by the waterfall with a glass of wine at Rapid City's #1 Bed and Breakfast in the region. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Creek Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.