We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Amazing Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Creek Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Summer Creek Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Summer Creek Inn & Spa
23204 Summer Creek Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Flemington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Great Location, Amazing Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Summer Creek Inn is as good as it gets! It is convenient to just about all of the attractions in the Mt. Rushmore/Rapid City/Deadwood area ... and, you will not find a better place to stay - at least for couples.

We stayed in Suite 2 for two nights in June 2011. It was a stunningly spacious and beautifully decorated room. In addition to a very comfortable bed, Suite 2 includes a fireplace, two reading chairs, a large leather couch, and an outdoor patio and sitting area with a private hot tub for guests of this suite only. Indoors, the bathroom includes a freestanding jetted tub that fills from the ceiling as well as a separate shower large enough for two where the water will refresh and cleanse you from five different angles.

There are numerous common areas for guests including a billiard room, a sitting room, and a mini-theater. You can choose from a collection of over 500 DVDs to view here or take back to your room.

Nancy and Dan are perfect hosts: low key, professional, friendly, and knowledgeable.

Breakfast is served at 8:30 each morning in a spacious dining area. It includes fruit, juice, coffee, and a delicious gourmet entree. Beverages and wine are available other times of the day.

Everything about this inn is FIRST CLASS! We loved our stay here and highly recommend it to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    6
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
150
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My husband and I decided at the last minute to take a mini-vacation. We were celebrating some personal accomplishments, so we wanted somewhere nice to stay. Generally we stay in hotels; in fact, we have never stayed in a B&B before so we had no idea what to expect. It sounded fun and interesting though, so I booked a room at the Summer Creek Inn.

As soon as we pulled in to the driveway, I knew we'd booked a great place. This is a very new B&B, opened in 2009. It's so beautiful, inside and out! The attention to detail and quality is astounding. They're working to improve and beautify the surrounding landscape too. I cannot wait to return in the future and see how it has changed.

Our room was suite 3A. (I took some pictures of the room that I will put with my review.) It had a king bed, jetted deep tub (the entire bathroom was amazing), and a wonderful gas fireplace. Given that much of our weekend was dampened by rain and chilly temperatures, we were so happy to have that fireplace! Nancy and Dan greeted us warmly and even made cookies for our arrival! We were given a tour of the entire place, including the billiards room and a gorgeous movie theater room. If you're a reader, they also had a large selection of books to enjoy!

After getting settled, we were hungry! There had been a recent snow storm in the area (snow in late May, eek!), so Nancy called a nearby restaurant to make sure they were open and that they had electrical power. Throughout our trip, Nancy and Dan provided advice and helped us decide where to go and what to see--their knowledge of the local area was such a great resource!

Since I mentioned hunger, I have to mention the breakfasts. They are excellent chefs! Each morning, a table was set for us and we enjoyed sharing breakfast with them and the other guests. Since our visit was during the off-season, there were only a few other couples in the B&B during our stay. We are somewhat introverted (we tend to keep to ourselves), so before our trip we were a bit wary of having breakfast with other guests. Our concerns were totally unfounded. We absolutely enjoyed sharing travel stories and conversation over coffee and fresh orange juice, Belgian waffles, fresh fruit, stuffed french toast, and other delicious selections each morning!

Our bed was extremely comfortable--really, our entire room was. As I said earlier, Nancy and Dan did a WONDERFUL job designing and building this place. The attention to detail and craftsmanship were impressive--this is not just some 'slapped together' hotel or anything. We're pretty picky travelers, yet I can't think of a single issue we had. Our room at Summer Creek Inn was perfect. Throughout our stay, we would find ourselves saying "let's go home" after finishing our last activities of the day. It is such a comfortable and welcoming place. We are SO GLAD we stayed here instead of in a hotel in Rapid City!

Some notes about technology: there is little to no cell service in the area of the B&B. (So bring a map--don't rely on your GPS!) Nancy gave us a couple of maps and guides when we arrived, and they were dog-eared and tattered by the time we left. You won't even miss your phone though--maybe you'll be glad for the break from it! (This is spoken by a true technology addict, by the way...) There was a nice TV (with satellite--I think--channels) in our room with a DVD player, and they have a nice library of DVDs you are welcome to watch in the theater or in your room. Ladies (or long-haired gents): there was a hair dryer provided, so you can leave yours at home!

As far as location: I thought it was a great location with access to all of the fun things to do in the Black Hills area. Summer Creek Inn is located just south of the Pactola Reservoir. From there, you can drive up to Deadwood, east to Rapid City, or south to Hill City, Keystone (Mt. Rushmore & more) or Custer (Custer state park, Jewel Caves monument and more). It is close to everything, yet it's peaceful, protected, and absolutely quiet. No road noise or other annoyances will bother you while you relax.

Obviously, we really liked our stay at Summer Creek Inn! Please check out the photos I have added to this review--some of them show our room, Suite 3A. This B&B was so amazing, I don't know how any other one could match up! We would definitely stay here again when returning to the Black Hills area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Nancy and Dan were great hosts. They helped us better plan our time in Black Hills

Room Tip: Suite 1 and 8 have hot tubs on quite side of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We really loved our time here. The food was delicious and the room was very comfortable. The conversations we had were great. This place is everything we had hoped for and more. Modern furnishings about 30 miles from Deadwood about 15 minutes from Hill City. We cannot imagine ever staying anywhere else in the Black Hills now. Very clean and tidy. Quiet at night. This inn is for couples and a perfect place for a getaway. This is a small inn so book in advance.

Room Tip: Call in advance this is a small inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Wonderful modern and extremely up to date bed and breakfast. Wonderful rooms, extrememly clean and tidy. Breakfast was fabulous and extremely fresh. It was nice to have freshly squeezed orange juice.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pataskala, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

What can I say about Summer Creek Inn? From the moment we pulled into the quiet side street, we knew that we struck gold. We were the first to arrive out of all the guests and Nancy was extremely accommodating. She showed us around, fixed us something to drink and sat on the patio with us conversing. We were in the middle of a two week vacation with more than 5000 miles of driving.

After we settled into our room, we enjoyed a nice homemade spaghetti dinner with Dan, Nancy, and a few other couples staying at the house. We sat out on the patio and a few hours and enjoyed each other’s company while eating dinner and dessert.

It was a tough choice, but we decided to stay in room #2. What an amazing room. Hot Tub, full body shower, soaking tub, separate private patio...and so much more, it was almost overwhelming. It's a shame we only stayed 2 nights. Cool nights in the hot tub were the perfect remedy after a long day in the park.

Both mornings we received an amazing breakfast, the one I remember most is the orange pecan crusted stuffed French toast, I'm not sure if I was supposed to tell anyone about that breakfast, but it deserves credit for being amazing.

Bottom line, my wife and I will travel back to Summer Creek Inn again, and we hope to make it an annual event.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

What a gorgeous place to stay when visiting the Black Hills. This is not your mother's B&B. This is a modern inn with every convenience you could possibly think of. Gorgeous, huge rooms, and a beautiful dining area where Nancy & Dan serve you delicious breakfasts each morning.
The room felt quite luxurious with big-screen TV's, fireplace, whirlpool tub, big shower. There's a big home theater room where you can enjoy a movie and great conversation to be had with your hosts. The location is a great jumping-off point for most of the sites in and around the Black Hills. I'd go again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Creek Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Creek Inn & Spa

Address: 23204 Summer Creek Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your senses with a luxurious stay at Summer Creek Inn & Spa centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills of SD. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse memorial and all the major attractions and activities in the Black Hills. Uniquely designed with unexpected comforts, the inn is perfect for weddings, reunions, corporate retreat or that perfect vacation. Enjoy gourmet breakfast, in-room fireplaces, private whirlpools, hot tubs, theater, or relax by the waterfall with a glass of wine at Rapid City's #1 Bed and Breakfast in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Summer Creek Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Creek Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.