We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Lord of the Flies' with a waterslide” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Watiki Indoor Waterpark

Watiki Indoor Waterpark
1314 North Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57701
+1 877-545-2897
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 35 Attractions in Rapid City
Type: Water Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Grab your family and come "dive in" to WaTiki Indoor Waterpark! Guests and visitors are invited to enjoy over 30,000 square feet of pools and waterslides. The park is open year-round and is conveniently located right off I-90 on Elk Vale Road at Exit 61. WaTiki is connected to the Fairfield Inn & Suites and La Quinta Inn & Suites, which means we can accommodate every one in your pool party!
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“'Lord of the Flies' with a waterslide”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Never mind the fact that the park itself is like being in an echo chamber filled with tortured cats, this place is an accident waiting to happen. It seems that this is nothing more than a convenient place to abandon kids while you sit at a table and get pleasantly bombed. As a result, you've got little tribes of kids running around tormenting smaller kids, all the while screaming like Banshees.

The rules are supposed to be enforced by what are laughingly referred to as "Lifeguards". From what I saw, these people stroll around the area, displaying the insouciance normally reserved for billionaire debutantes forced to rub shoulders with the peasantry, while studiously ignoring any and all transgressors. Those that would like to do something can't because the noise level varies from "mind-blowing" to "ear-splitting", drowning out any requests for assistance.

On a positive note, the water must be clean since there is enough Chlorine in it to kill birds in the parking lot.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    51
    23
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great for kids and adults!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here with a Fairfield Inn package that included water park passes each day. Even after 5 days of using the water park for several hours each day, we were all sad to leave it. There are two HUGE tube slides and a long regular slide, as well as a lazy river and an incredible kids area. There is also an arcade and bar/restaurant area that we did not spend much time in. The kids could not get enough of this place. We could have stayed here for 10 hours a day if it was up to them. Will definitely come here again!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steele, North Dakota, United States
2 reviews
“GREAT GET AWAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just wanted to say that we had a nice time this past pre New Years weekend! We stayed for two nights and left on New Year's Day...bummer! Sounds like the facility had great things planned for that evening! Although the electricity went out the morning we arrived, and there was a line of people waiting to check in, the ladies behind the desk were tremendous and very, very, helpful! The manager was a gem! She came to our room to try and figure out the remote/TV and also gave us tokens for the arcade. We had conversations about the hotel, lets not forget the discussions we had about the Hotel Alex Johnson! :O), and the Black Hills in general, words can't say enough about your wonderful employees! We look forward to coming back real soon!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watiki, Manager at Watiki Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing photos of your WaTiki experience along with this nice review of our water park and compliments to our staff. We're always happy to hear that our employees went above and beyond to make an enjoyable experience for our guests. Please come back and visit soon!

Best,

WaTiki Indoor Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The indoor water park was so much fun. We all enjoyed it. My favorite part was going down the slide with the kids and the lazy river. You can never be to old to enjoy a cool slide. I felt that the park catered to all ages. There was a kiddie area with lots of activities for my little ones. I felt very safe, they had a well run security procedure. No one was able to leave the area without a matching wristband to a parent. It made us feel at ease. My 2 oldest were able to run free. while I was able to stay with the little ones. It was an enjoyable experience. We are sure to return.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watiki, Manager at Watiki Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're happy to hear that your WaTiki experience was a fun, safe, and enjoyable time for your entire group! At the WaTiki Indoor Waterpark, we strive to provide safe water-park activities for guests of all ages.

We'd love to see you again the next time you're vacationing in the Black Hills area! For the summer of 2014, we'll open the new WaTiki expansion featuring a wave pool, a zipline, and three new water-slides... amongst a round of other additions! We hope you'll consider bringing your family back to check out the new WaTiki!

Regards,

WaTiki Indoor Waterpark
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertown
1 review
“Great time for all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family really enjoyed this place!! What a great surprise when we stopped at one of the hotels attached! We just intended on passing through and ended up staying three days! The park never got boring and the kids had a blast!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watiki, Manager at Watiki Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to visit our TripAdvisor page and leave this nice comment. Our management and staff are happy to hear that your family thoroughly enjoyed their time spent at WaTiki Indoor Waterpark. Our goal is to create a one-of-its-kind water-park experience that's fun for the whole family. Please come visit us again soon!

Best,
WaTiki Indoor Waterpark
Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watiki Indoor Waterpark also viewed

 

Been to Watiki Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watiki Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.