We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lived up to the reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 North Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lindstrom, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lived up to the reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I always inspect hotel rooms right away. I walked in and there was no smell, the bed linens were not stained and did not smell like the typical strong bleach smell. The bathroom had no mold/mildew stained caulk, sinks were clean and unstained and the tile grout was even clean. The only thing that wasn't perfect was under the vanity. There were about 50 black hairs under there that didn't get swept up when they cleaned. I actually felt comfortable in a hotel room. They were sold out the second night we were there, so I expected some noise from the hallway and neighbors and heard...NOTHING! I had to really listen to hear anyone. LOVE THAT! I was there with my family for 4 nights. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for the great review! I’m ecstatic to hear that you found comfort in our suites! Our staff works tirelessly to make sure that our entire property is spotless. I’ll address the vanity with housekeeping. I’m also happy to hear that your suite was nice and quiet…. sometime you just can’t put a price on that! We hope you will visit us the next time you’re in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during a snowy day! Rooms were beautiful, comfortable and very new! Pool was small but nice. Front desk person was personal and friendly! We took time and ate the breakfast and there were many options and breakfast attendants were also very friendly! Highly recommend!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank abvijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for the “Awesome” review! We have a wonderful staff that is always happy to go out of their way for our guests. Please visit us the next time you’re in the area, we’ll have some warm cookies waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great place to stay! Clean and very nice rooms with a sitting area, refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast is free and includes juices, sausage, bacon, yogurt, fruit, cereal, etc. Pool is small but nice. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Only shortcoming is the wifi which was essentially unusable because it was so slow. Staff stated that the system was overwhelmed and couldn't be fixed. After our stay we were contacted by a manager who apologized for the shortcoming and said a new wifi system was to be installed. Very nice and classy touch.

Highly recommended for couples or families when going to rapid city or the black hills. Location is very convenient. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mplstodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hello Mplstodd,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review of our Platinum Award Winning Hotel! I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would also like to apologize for the problems with the wifi, our new system is being installed as we speak! We hope you will stay with us the next time you’re in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We brought our granddaughter west to see Mt. Rushmore (her request). We stayed at the Comfort Inn Suites. What a great experience. The rooms were large and so was the bathroom. Sophie loved the pool. The breakfast was a complete hot breakfast. It was close to the Dakota Restaurant which was an excellent steak house with a menu just for Sophie. Wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor if you have children, close to the pool, exercise room and laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I’m so happy to hear that you and your granddaughter had such a great experience at our hotel. It’s always fun when the kids want to visit a place such as Mt. Rushmore! We love having the Dakotah Steakhouse next door because a great meal is only a short walk across the parking lot. Please stay with us again the next time you visit the Black Hills!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

An excellent hotel except in a storm the elevator rains on you when its storming so I took the stairs back up from the pool which was too cool for me to swim in nice and clean though. The spa was too hot for me too so I went back tp my room and relaxed in a nice tub of bubbles.They should really get that elevator vent fixed it was running water down the lights and it was a little scary

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patty_vdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our Platinum Award Winning Hotel! I’m sorry to hear that our pool temperatures didn’t agree with you but I’m happy to hear you found relaxation in your suite! We rarely do get the perfect combination of wind and rain that blows it right into the ventilation system but not to worry, there is no harm done and we have addressed this issue. We hope you will stay with us the next time you’re in the Black Hills! We’ll have some fresh, warm cookies waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I don't give 5 stars to a chain type hotel, but if I did, I'd give this hotel the 5! Nice people, very clean and bright, large room, not noisy and an ok location for the local fair grounds! A deal all around. About 10-15 minutes from the airport servicing Rapid City.

Room Tip: Its a quiet area, off Interstate 90, so no good or bad room selection. One side faces the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineV88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Sunshine V88,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I’m glad you found our accommodations to be of the “5 Star” caliber that we’re known for! We hope you’ll stay with us the next time you’re in the Black Hills!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

New building which was super clean and quiet. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Convenient location which was easily accessible for out rental truck. Great steak restaurant next door is a must stop for dinner and the Free hot breakfast and wifi was a big plus. We'll definitely return to this hotel when passing through Rapid City on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VSKOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear valued guest,

I’m very happy to hear that you found our hotel “super clean and quiet”! We pride ourselves on having an exceptional staff and I’ll pass along the nice comments to them. Yes, the Dakotah Steakhouse next door is definitely a must stop! We’ll be looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
3.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
#7 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#5 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Address: 1333 North Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#2 Green Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Platinum Award Winning all-suite hotel is sure to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. We offer a great breakfast with various hot items served daily in a large dining area. All rooms have pillow-top beds, sofas that pull out into full size beds, flat screen TVs, a refrigerator and a microwave. The Dakotah Steakhouse is just a stroll across our parking lot - directly in front of the hotel. Easy access off of I-90 means you are close to many shopping venues, only 5 minutes to historic downtown Rapid City and not more than 30-60 minutes away from Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial or any attraction, park or national forest in the Black Hills or Badlands. No need to pack & unpack your bags every night. Our spacious Convention Center is perfect for family/military reunions, dinners, wedding receptions, meetings, conferences or seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing