We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Rapid City SD to stay with the friendliest staff!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Rapid City

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Rapid City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 North Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57703   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Pierre
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best place in Rapid City SD to stay with the friendliest staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Would recommend this place to everyone! The quality of your stay with this facility will rate a 100 on a 1 to 10 scale, it is that good!!! Don't even check any place else in town!!!!

The facility is clean and modern. The breakfast is great in the morning and they maintain it very good. The staff is very friendly and eager to help or assist you in any way they can.

I highly recommend straying here and you won't find a better place, with class, for the price.

The fresh made cookies are also a nice touch for those checking in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy O, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
WOW! What else can we say? That is a WONDERFUL review - Thank you for sharing your experience here at the Comfort Suites with the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    103
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
257
172
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great place to stay. Quieter since it's not in downtown, but easy access to the highways and Interstate 90. The staff was friendly and helpful. Room was quiet and spacious. Hot breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have beautiful sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy O, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you! We LOVE hearing that your stay was "Excellent" - Can't get much better than that : )
And you are correct - the sunset view of the Black Hills from our West side suites is beautiful! It's a perfect place to stretch out and relax after a great day of exploring Rapid City and the area. We hope to have you back as a guest again - soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I took my wife out for a night just to get away from the kids. The room was booked through my credit card rewards program: a king suite with a jacuzzi tub (my wife loves a hot bath).
We checked in and went to our room...it was a king suite, but no jacuzzi. I went back to the front desk and explained the situation. Cindy - the front desk clerk - was very pleasant and changed our room assignment even though it was my rewards program who had booked the wrong room. Yay!
We happily walked down the hall to our new room, opened the door...and were greeted with an unpleasant odor (I think the floor drain had backed up). My wife and I looked at each other and she went to the front desk and asked Cindy if she would be willing to come smell the room. Cindy patiently obliged, took one sniff and said, "give me a minute". In 2 minutes we had our third room assignment (the entire ordeal was less than 10 minutes in all).
Our weekend was perfect, thanks to an excellent staff and great accommodations. The suite is great with a nice sitting area and of course the jacuzzi tub. Thanks for making a potentially disappointing night away into one of the best that we have had in a while!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy O, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are so pleased your "night away" turned out to be a great one. Cindy IS a great Desk Clerk - She has been here since we opened our doors August 1st of 2009 and really takes great pride in offering excellent service. Thank you for your comments ~ We'll look forward to your return, but you don't have to wait a year ; )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I spent an aniversary night out on the town in the Comfort Suites. The jacuzzi suite we stayed in was awesome. We had a king size bed and a sitting area. The room was very quite even thoough the hotel was busy. We checked in about 4 pm and Cindy was wonderful, wished us a wonderful night and gave us coupons for desert at the dakota steakhouse next door.
We came in after a late night and John greeted us like family coming home to roost. Breakfast was great with alot of choices. The pillows on the beds were fabulous...soft and firm. I believe next years aniversary will also be spent at the suites...WONDERFUL place. Thank you for an awesome night!!!

Room Tip: The king jacuzzi suites are to die for!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were very pleased with the hospitality and friendliness of everyone at the Comfort Suites. Sales Director Cindy Olson went above and beyond for our group; making restaurant reservations, giving us great rates and accommodations, and assisting us in numerous ways. I would totally recommend them! Thank you!

Room Tip: We were given a business suite as one of the rooms. It was perfect for a group meeting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy O, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you Lori for the kind words about our hotel and your experience here! We LOVE groups and are happy to go "above and beyond" for them and all of our guests. Please contact me for your next trip to Rapid City ~ We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean. The staff were extremely friendly. Breakfast was very good and staff Jeanette and Emily were very nice. The towels were fresh daily. The location is close to cabelas and a short drive to mt rushmoore, crazy horse, and the caves.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy O, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We're so glad to have "Awesome" describe our hotel and especially our staff! There is so much to see and do in Rapid City, Badlands National Park and the Beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota ... I'm sure you couldn't have done it all! We ARE conveniently located, so it is easy to get anywhere from here. We look forward to greeting you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I frequently stay at the Comfort Suites in Rapid City when traveling on business. The hotel is good, but it's the staff that keeps me coming back. They are always friendly and extremely helpful all the time. Each night when I come in from work Cindy is there to greet me with a smile on her face- I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Rapid City.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy O, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff. Cindy is an excellent Desk Clerk - that's one of the reasons she has been an Employee of the Quarter! We all care very much about our guests and work hard to keep them coming back. Please do let us know if there is anything we can do to improve the quality of our rooms, cleanliness and most important - your quality of sleep. We would love to have that "perfect" rating! Thank you for always choosing to stay with us when you come to Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Rapid City

Address: 1333 North Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#2 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#2 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Rapid City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Platinum Award Winning all-suite hotel is sure to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. We offer a great breakfast with various hot items served daily in a large dining area. All rooms have pillow-top beds, sofas that pull out into full size beds, flat screen TVs, a refrigerator and a microwave. The Dakotah Steakhouse is just a stroll across our parking lot - directly in front of the hotel. Easy access off of I-90 means you are close to many shopping venues, only 5 minutes to historic downtown Rapid City and not more than 60 minutes away from any attraction, park or national forest in the Black Hills or Badlands. No need to pack & unpack your bags every night. Our spacious Convention Center is perfect for family/military reunions, dinners, weddings, meetings, conferences or seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.