We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel PERIOD!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Rapid City

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Rapid City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 North Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57703   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite hotel PERIOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel is a gem! I have stayed in Choice Hotels for over 8 years and none of them can hold a candle to this place. Great location, very clean, super-fast internet, clean pool/hot tub comfy bed. Nothing to complain about except I cant stay longer. A++++++

Room Tip: Get a room with a whirlpool tub, you get a shower/tub combo and a seperate whirpool in your room. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    103
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
257
172
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very nice and clean property. Easy access to everything we wanted to see and do. Had a 2 bedroom unit only disappointment was only ONE bathroom. Breakfast was nothing spectacular but good and always replenished.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My family of 5 stayed here for two nights and there was plenty of room for all of us!! Our room consisted of 2 Queens and a pull out couch and we never felt like we were "on top" of each other. Breakfasts were organized and they didn't run out like other hotels. The check in process was done efficiently and friendly!! We will definetly stay here again!!!

Room Tip: South end rooms of hotel are quieter. The north end is closer to I-90.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent two nights here on a trip out west. Room was comfortable and clean and breakfast was what you would expect for most hotels. Staff was very friendly. We booked this room as part of a tour package we found in our AAA book.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Extremely happy with the location, the cleaniless and size of the rooms, the comfort of the beds, the friendliness of the staff and the breakfast offering. Will stay here again and again and will tell all of our friends and family visiting the Black Hills to do so, also!

Room Tip: Some rooms are designated for pets. We have allergies, so this was nice to know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy O, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our Platinum Award winning hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and are thankful that you'll be telling others about our excellent accommodations and service. Should you know anyone coming to Rapid City and the Black Hills for a special event (wedding reception, family reunion or a tournament of some kind...), and are needing 5 or more rooms - please have them ask for me. I'll be happy to help with a group rate if possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love this hotel it is great for families of 5 or more. The family rooms are affordable and comfortable for all of us to stay in. The breakfast buffet in the morning had a good variety for us all to choose from. We will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel our last night of our 4 night vacation to the Black Hills. We did not anticipate moving from our hotel in Keystone, but due to poor customer service we changed. Very glad that we did. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and staff was very nice. Kids loved the pool, nice work out facility, main lobby was nice and relaxing. The breakfast was fine. We had hoped for a little more on the hot side of breakfasts as the last hotel had sausage and omelets or scrambled eggs so the kids were disappointed over that, but over all would highly recommend staying here. It is a bit of a drive to Mt. Rushmore area (about 20 miles), but worth it as the hotels in the more touristy area of the Black Hills are not as nice.

Room Tip: This is an all suite hotel. Works great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Rapid City

Address: 1333 North Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#2 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#2 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Rapid City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Platinum Award Winning all-suite hotel is sure to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. We offer a great breakfast with various hot items served daily in a large dining area. All rooms have pillow-top beds, sofas that pull out into full size beds, flat screen TVs, a refrigerator and a microwave. The Dakotah Steakhouse is just a stroll across our parking lot - directly in front of the hotel. Easy access off of I-90 means you are close to many shopping venues, only 5 minutes to historic downtown Rapid City and not more than 60 minutes away from any attraction, park or national forest in the Black Hills or Badlands. No need to pack & unpack your bags every night. Our spacious Convention Center is perfect for family/military reunions, dinners, weddings, meetings, conferences or seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.