We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 North Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here during a South Dakota vacation. Great location to base out of for tourist attractions, close to I-90 and Mt. Rushmore road. Lots of restaurants and stores are located an exit or two down, so that was nice as well. Our room was very clean, very quiet, and nice. Breakfast was good and the front desk staff were super friendly and helpful. The pool was a bit small but our two kids didn't mind. Would definitely recommend for the budget minded traveller as a nice place to stay without spending a fortune.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    139
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
328
228
28
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is located in a newer area of Rapid City with a steakhouse right next door. The bed was comfortable, which was very welcome after a 10 hour drive! This is a very clean hotel - it smelled clean when you walked into the room. Common areas are very well kept and again, smelled clean. I am a clean freak, and this hotel definitely passed as it is also a new hotel! The breakfast was very good, as well. For a nice change of pace, instead of sausage patties, they had ham patties. I would highly recommend this place to anyone else who likes new and clean! It is right off of I-90, so very convenient. It's in a new area right on the extreme eastern edge of town, so a short drive to any of the attratctions. A small price to pay for a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Friendly staff gave us awesome advice on things to do in Rapid City. Barb and Rita were very delightful and diligent about making the continental breakfast as perfect as could be (constantly replenishing food items and supplies). Our rooms were clean and roomy for our family of 5 and the refrigerator and microwave were very handy and useful. Housekeeping even deserved the tip we gave them for placing our kids stuffed animals on the beds after they made up the room. Our only negative comment would be that the pool was very cold. It was small and we wondered if it was even heated. We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor comments and would come back despite the pool.

Room Tip: Roomy and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

One of the difficulties of having a big family (we have 5 kids) is finding a place to stay with adequate space and sleeping arrangements without breaking the bank. We were glad we found Comfort Suites in Rapid City.

You can tell it is fairly new. The decor is up to date, it is clean, and tasteful. The room we got had a separate bedroom with 2 queen beds, a separate living room with a couch that pulled out into a double to queen size bed, and a separate dining room with a big table that fit us all (also having a refrigerator and microwave and good cupboard space). The room was clean, spacious, good temperature control despite 100+ degree weather.

The breakfast in the morning was included and was quite good. It had cereals, bagels, donuts/muffins, hard boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, a breakfast meat that varied from day to day, and reconstituted scrambled eggs (put enough ketchup on them and they aren't bad). There were also waffles, with 2 different flavors of batter, yogurt, etc. Fruit juice and coffee to drink. All in all a very nice variety - a nice way to start every morning.

The pool was small and the hot tub jets didn't really create much water movement, but everything else was so outstanding that these are small complaints. Housekeeping was late one day, but part of that was because we cut our day short given the 100+ heat. I still thought our room should have been cleaned by 3 PM, but the other days it was timely.

We felt like the price we paid was reasonable since we were in peak season, and compared with getting two standard rooms elsewhere it was a bargain. We were pleased and would stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartington, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is a fairly new property, and a first-class facility. It's located on the northeast side of Rapid City, in a fairly clean, modern suburban area of shopping malls and restaurants. It's not far from Elsworth Air Force Base. It's not terribly conveneint for access to the Black Hills, but if you want to get away from the ticky-tacky properties clustered around the park entrance, this is the place.
The room was spacious, comfortable and clean, and fairly quiet.
The breakfast was more ample than most, and ably staffed by Barb and her friendly co-workers.
The wireless internet was free, and fairly fast. It failed at one point, but came back after a couple of resets by the staff.
All in all, this was a very enjoyable stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Everybody associated with this establishment is very hospitable. Eliza, Aleah, Gail, Davis, all the workers from different departments went out of their way to make our stay the "BEST" possible!! GREAT JOB!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Stayed here with Choice Hotel Reward points and was delighted with the wonderful three room suite they gave us for two people. It was huge, clean and quiet with lots of towels and pillows. The desk staff were all very nice, quick and helpful--best we've encountered anywhere. Complimentary breakfast is a plus.
The hotel is easy to spot, right off the freeway exit but is back from the road and very quiet. There is lots of parking and a very nice, new restaurant right across the parking lot. We had dinner there and it was good. We had to fly out from here and it was close to the airport and you pass a less expensive gas station on the way if you have a rental car to fill up.
We stayed in Hill City one night to be near the sites there and in Deadwood one night but would stay here again when in Rapid City and if you don't want to change hotels you could drive to Rushmore and back--it's an easy freeway drive--not much traffic in S. Dakota.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Address: 1333 North Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#2 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#2 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Platinum Award Winning all-suite hotel is sure to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. We offer a great breakfast with various hot items served daily in a large dining area. All rooms have pillow-top beds, sofas that pull out into full size beds, flat screen TVs, a refrigerator and a microwave. The Dakotah Steakhouse is just a stroll across our parking lot - directly in front of the hotel. Easy access off of I-90 means you are close to many shopping venues, only 5 minutes to historic downtown Rapid City and not more than 30-60 minutes away from Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial or any attraction, park or national forest in the Black Hills or Badlands. No need to pack & unpack your bags every night. Our spacious Convention Center is perfect for family/military reunions, dinners, wedding receptions, meetings, conferences or seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.