We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Retreat Graced by a Lovely Wooden Chapel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapel in the Hills

Chapel in the Hills
3788 Chapel Lane, Rapid City, SD 57702
605 342 8281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 35 Attractions in Rapid City
Type: Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Replica of the 850-year-old Borgund Church in Norway and has unique architecture and woodcarvings.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Quiet Retreat Graced by a Lovely Wooden Chapel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The beauty of travel are the surprising little discoveries I make along the way. My trip to South Dakota led to a wonderful surprise at the foot of the Black Hills in Rapid City. It's the Chapel in the Hills. Although I had read rave reviews, I didn't know for sure. I'm not a religious person but I couldn't help being dazzled by this beautiful chapel, which is a replica of a thousand-year-old Norwegian stave church. Two lovely ladies greeted me at the "Stabbur," a grass-roofed store house serving as the visitor center. After directing me to points of interest on the chapel grounds, they let me roam free to snap photos and enjoy this quiet and peaceful retreat graced by such a lovely wooden chapel. I stayed awhile and relished every moment.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    54
    14
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very cool and so, so beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wanna see some medieval European architecture while you're in South Dakota? (If you don't answer "Um, yes?", then I don't know what to tell you.) Chapel in the Hills is a total gem. It's such a neat piece of history and in one of the most gorgeous settings imaginable. The little museum is neat too. And when we were there, the volunteer working in the gift shop was incredibly nice and funny. Just love this place. Five stars!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Interesting quick stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stopped here on our list of free things to do in Rapid City. It was worth the quick stop. Chapel was pretty neat, very small but authentic. They also have a small cabin off to the side from one of the original inhabitants who lived there with authentic period pieces. If you have a quick half hour to an hour stop by and see it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very cool! Worth seeing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This church is an exact replica of the Stave church in Laerdal Norway. The Borgund Stave Church in Laerdal, Norway was built in 1180. This church has special meaning to me as it was my ancestors who built the church in Laerdal. So made it a point to go to the Chapel in the Hills as it is very likely the closest I will ever come to being able to see the church. With that said, it was a great experience. Very cool to see and the little museum and gift shop on site are wonderful. I would recommend anyone to go even if they don't have a family connection. Our 4 teenagers were surprisingly impressed. It is free!! But the do ask for a free will donation.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luther, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was a wlecome spot to visit. Just sitting in the Chapel brought such peace. After being on the road it was wonderful just to sit and pray.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapel in the Hills also viewed

 

Been to Chapel in the Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapel in the Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.