We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Hays Old West Town & Dinner Show

Fort Hays Old West Town & Dinner Show
2255 Fort Hays Drive, Rapid City, SD 57701
(888) 394-9653
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 27 Attractions in Rapid City
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Start your day at Fort Hays Old West Town, site of the Oscar award winning movie set, Dances with Wolves. Walk along our boardwalk and make your own brick, tin plate, gem pan or make a twine lasso rope. There is no admission fee to browse the film set & South Dakota Film Museum. See the original buildings used in this popular Wild West movie. Enjoy All-You-Can-Eat Cowboy Pancakes for 99 cents! Find the perfect souvenior at one of our three unique Gift Shops. Dinner shows are held at Fort Hays mid May through mid October.
Springfield, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good clean fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just an all around good time! Clean fun for the whole family. Food was wonderful. Go early and stay late!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    79
    37
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's a family tradition to go to the dinner show (at least) once every year--mostly because we know the members of the band. A great meal, wonderful entertainment, and a very welcoming and friendly staff! This is definitely something to add to your itinerary if you're visiting Rapid City and the Black Hills -- or even for the locals to "get out and do something." My son (now 7) LOVES the show and has a blast watching "real cowboys play music."

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great day!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had breakfast before boarding the bus for our full day of adventure to Mt Rushmore, Custer State Park and monument and all things in between. We had time to walk around and enjoy the things on site before we left on our our bus. Our tour guide was great and it made the trip so much more enjoyable. Dinner afterwards along with the entertainment was great. Food was good and the show very fun! Would not hesitate to sign up for this tour again!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best way to tour area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The complex where the tour begins is like a step back in time. Riding in the bus with a great driver/guide to see Rushmore and Crazy Horse and the entire area beats your own car hands down. You learn the lore of the land and much more, then you return for a great meal and great country entertainment. This is the only way to bring a group to see the sights around Rapid city and also a family because no one has to drive the car on very narrow roads.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Loads of family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Walk through the doors where Dancing with wolves was filmed. Remember the Fort Hays scene? Its there intact. And the show and supper are fun. Not bad food, much better than I expected. You pass through a "chow line" to get your food, but rremember to move your plated along. If you don't they just keep piling it on and there's no way to finish it all. The show features local talent. The fiddle player is the orchestra teacher in Rapid City and she is incredible!! Standard skits, but done well and funny. Check it out, its a nice change of pace and not expensive.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Hays Old West Town & Dinner Show also viewed

 

Been to Fort Hays Old West Town & Dinner Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Hays Old West Town & Dinner Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.