We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Tradition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Hays Old West Town and Dinner Show

Fort Hays Old West Town and Dinner Show
2255 Fort Hayes Road, Rapid City, SD 57702
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Start your day at Fort Hays Old West Town, site of the Oscar award winning movie set, Dances with Wolves. Walk along our boardwalk and make your own brick, tin plate, gem pan or make a twine lasso rope. There is no admission fee to browse the film set & South Dakota Film Museum. See the original buildings used in this popular Wild West movie. Enjoy All-You-Can-Eat Cowboy Pancakes for 99 cents! Find the perfect souvenior at one of our three unique Gift Shops. Dinner shows are held at Fort Hays mid May through mid October.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's a family tradition to go to the dinner show (at least) once every year--mostly because we know the members of the band. A great meal, wonderful entertainment, and a very welcoming and friendly staff! This is definitely something to add to your itinerary if you're visiting Rapid City and the Black Hills -- or even for the locals to "get out and do something." My son (now 7) LOVES the show and has a blast watching "real cowboys play music."

Visited August 2012
3 Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great day!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had breakfast before boarding the bus for our full day of adventure to Mt Rushmore, Custer State Park and monument and all things in between. We had time to walk around and enjoy the things on site before we left on our our bus. Our tour guide was great and it made the trip so much more enjoyable. Dinner afterwards along with the entertainment was great. Food was good and the show very fun! Would not hesitate to sign up for this tour again!

Visited September 2012
3 Thank vluv2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best way to tour area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The complex where the tour begins is like a step back in time. Riding in the bus with a great driver/guide to see Rushmore and Crazy Horse and the entire area beats your own car hands down. You learn the lore of the land and much more, then you return for a great meal and great country entertainment. This is the only way to bring a group to see the sights around Rapid city and also a family because no one has to drive the car on very narrow roads.

Visited September 2012
2 Thank Mabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, TX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Loads of family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Walk through the doors where Dancing with wolves was filmed. Remember the Fort Hays scene? Its there intact. And the show and supper are fun. Not bad food, much better than I expected. You pass through a "chow line" to get your food, but rremember to move your plated along. If you don't they just keep piling it on and there's no way to finish it all. The show features local talent. The fiddle player is the orchestra teacher in Rapid City and she is incredible!! Standard skits, but done well and funny. Check it out, its a nice change of pace and not expensive.

Visited July 2012
4 Thank CJHollandNBTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chuckwagon Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I picked this as I thought is would be a good experience for the kids. It was nice, more on the touristy side of things though. I thought some of the action would be outside, but really just buildings to see, walk through, and such. The rope making was neat, but had to buy the rope. The tin plate making was good too, but only one plate was made only one family had a chance to buy the pie plate they made. The indoor show itself was good. The kids thought it was old style music though, so not too interested in that. The food was excellent.

Visited October 2012
2 Thank slfamilyiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Hays Old West Town and Dinner Show also viewed


Been to Fort Hays Old West Town and Dinner Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing