We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Winds Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Winds Cottages
12720 S. Highway 16, Rapid City, SD 57702   |  
Hotel amenities
nyc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our family stayed here for the first time in August. We loved our cottage - quaint, very clean and well maintained. During the day we took side trips through the Black Hills and saw many local attractions. Our kids loved the nightly fire pit where we roasted marshmellows and played games. What made our stay most special was the hospitality of our amamzing hosts, Jim and Marla!! They helped us plan our day trips so we got the out of each day. Jim hosted the nighly bonfires and told stories and filled us in on local color. It really brought our group of guests togehter, and we made friends we look forward to seeing next time!

All in all it was one of our best family trips!. We highly recommend a stay at Whispering Winds!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lester, Iowa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently stayed in the Sportman's Cottage and don't have enough good things to say about Whispering Winds Cottages. Jim and Marla are excellent hosts and they had a fire lit for us every night that we stayed. The cabin was very clean and provided more than enough room for the 6 people in our party. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for the first time a couple months ago. It was perfect. We came back again over labor day with our family. The cottages are really nice. The location is great. And the owners are super nice. They treat you like friends.
MThat is why all the reviews of this place are outstanding. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene, New York, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I spent our honeymoon during Sturgis week and although it was a ways to drive into Sturgis, we can't image having a better place to have spent that time. Jim and Marla were the greatest hosts. They gave us so much "insider" information that we were able to spend our time wisely and get the most out of the time we had. Every day was an adventure - one that we will never forget. The cottages were very clean and decorated nice. I even had to take some of the decorating ideas home with me. Thank you both for the best time ever on a vacation that will not be forgotten.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here with my family and father this summer for a week. Rented the "sportman's cabin".
My family generally travels using camper cottages or cabins as we go..
So, relative to the places we've stayed across the country..The place is clean... no... the place is CLEAN. Everything was in good shape... newer if not new.. working.. functional.. stocked..mowed.. trimmed.. painted. It was a pleasure to come back to at the end of the day.
Even the camper showers were pristine.
But what really makes this place is Jim and Marla... I know that sounds corny... but every night Jim takes the time to build a fire in the central area (propane during fire bans), and we all come out of the cabins or RV sites to talk about our day..have marshmellows...it absolutely makes the stay.
Most campgrounds cottages hotels you can spend a whole vacation never knowing the people next to you.. here it was like talking with friends at the end of the day. You found places to go... things that were or weren't worthwhile to see. Jim is a bundle of information about the area. It made being at the cottage an event rather than just a place to sleep.
I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night while visiting the Black Hills on a motorcycle. We stayed in a really nice cabin that looked like it was new on the inside. Super clean, fridge, microwave, satellite TV, comfy bed, and a nice front porch / deck for sitting and looking at the view outside. Free covered parking for motorcycles. It was fun to sit around the fire pit and visit with the owner and the other guests. The owners recommended a nice route back to Sturgis when we left, it made for a nice ride. And it is a far better value than a national chain hotel. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Whispering Winds Cottages are affordable, centrally located and clean. What sets Whispering Winds apart are the owners, Jim and Marla. Their kindness, knowledge and obvious dedication to making it a fun family experience makes Whispering Winds a destination we look forward to coming back to!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whispering Winds Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Winds Cottages

Address: 12720 S. Highway 16, Rapid City, SD 57702
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty lodging in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated lodging facility located 5 miles NE of Hill City, SD. One mile south of Three Forks on Highway 16. Perfect home base for all Black Hills attractions. Great for small groups and families vacationing together. Variety of options with one, two, and three bed units (mainly Queen Beds) Inviting decor. Microwaves and bar refrigerators. Central BBQ area with gas grill and bonfire pit. National Forest on 2 sides. Great Views. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Winds Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Whispering Winds Cottages to your Saves list