We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

I had heard about the renovations to this property from some colleagues and decided to check into it. I couldn't believe the price and it was in a great location for me. I normally don't sleep well on business trips but this was the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    168
    81
    51
    22
See reviews for
113
220
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Wow what a great unique place! The beds were so comfortable and the location of downtown shops, dining and entertainment couldn't be better!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Living in Rapid City, I really didn't have a reason to stay at the Alex Johnson until I won a night's stay through a drawing at the Symphony Fun Run. Now I have first-hand experience that I can relate to out-of-town visitors. I would recommend its historical atmosphere and proximity to downtown shops, restaurants, and bars. Even if I had to pay for the room, the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

The day we stayed the was no opportunity for any packages. Don't stay on a Saturday because the packages are void...no services available on Sundays. The Tv didn't work and when we called for hot water and TV repair it fell on deaf ears. We acalled down 10 X on Sat. evening and 7x on Sun. morning with NO responds. There is a lot to be done to be a quality hotel...starting with service. Very disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Autumn, the check in desk ckerk was kind and very helpful. The hotel was not full and she volunteered a free room upgrade. She clearly communicated her appreciation for us selecting this fine hotel. The Alex Johnson is a vintage Hotel that is upgraded and places the guest experience ahead of everything else, or at leas that was our conclusion after dealing with Autumn. There are many hotels that could use a clerk like Autumn. We have another stay in Rapid City next month and we will stay at the Alex Johnson again and hope Autumn is on duty.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viajero frecuente
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

The rooms are confortable, the conditioning air was not so good. It´s not expensive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I so wanted to love this place but in the end, ended up only liking it. I love staying in historic hotels which have been thoughtfully renovated and this one surely fits the bill. Six presidents have stayed here and it has quite a history. In fact, I think when one checked in, a half-page handout of the history of the hotel which included famous people of the past who have stayed here and other interesting facts would go a long way in setting the proper mood to the tourists who choose to stay here. I don't expect the large rooms or numerous amenities of today when staying at a place like this. I love the historic common area, the connected coffee shop, and the location spack-dab in the downtown of Rapid City. Much was good--new, very comfortable beds, cute bathrooms, nicely redone hallways. Newly redone, our room was generally clean but I found some newer stains on the carpet as well as a large questionable stain on the cushion of the desk chair. We were in the smallest rooms at the hotel and found it odd that an enormous entertainment center/chest of drawers took up such a large percentage of the already small room. The flatscreen tv set on top of a tiny chest of drawers would have made much more sense and would have made getting around in the room easier. The hallways have been recently tastefully painted but it appears there needs to be a regular schedule of "touch up" painting as dings, etc. were starting to become evident (Floor 8). Also, our room had several pigeons perched on the outside window sill much of the time we were in the room with a large amount of bird waste evident--made running the AC which probably brought in some outside air less than appealing--not sure what they could do about that, though! In summary, this place has a lot to offer and with just a little more attention to detail, they'd have a real winner.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.