We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world hotel in the best spot in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Old world hotel in the best spot in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We rolled into Rapid City looking for 2 things: old town and a hotel near it. We stumbled on the Alex Johnson right in the heart of a rustic and surprisingly trendy downtown, walked to everything, and simply loved this beautiful, historic and well maintained hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    200
    94
    59
    29
See reviews for
129
253
44
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed two nights in mid-August; Pros: location, location, location; walking distance to several excellent restaurants and good shopping; Cons: rooms on the small size relative to typical in price range but nice not to have to drive to everything; very competent front office staff; lovely hotel lobby

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed at this hotel braced for what 33 poor/terrible reviews had warned us about, bad service, dirty rooms, and outrageous pricing. Our stay included thankfully, none of those: the rooms were clean enough, service fine, and the price was cheap. Still its certainly NOT the best hotel. Despite renovations, the hotel still feels old, and worn down. There were people looking menacingly at our car and wearing ski masks in the hotel parking lot, which is ages away from the hotel. Stay somewhere else in Rapid city.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is a historic hotel but with all the comfort of a 4 star hotel: the lobby is beautiful but more importantly the rooms are comfortable. We stayed in a king room that was so comfortable: the bed was nice, the amenities all very nice, the room was clean and sound proof: occassionally you could hear very loud Harleys zooming down the road outside but it wasn't bad. The room darken well to avoid the morning light. The bathroom was the biggest complaint: the toilets are just so weird: they jet out and there is NO way you could sit comfortably. The bathrooms are very small. Regardless, we slept well and it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

The best feature about this quaint and historic hotel is the staff there. I could not believe how friendly, informative and helpful everyone I met was. They went out of their way to help me with any question I had and were very understanding and patient with us when we had issues with our room. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Tip: Skip the hotel and eat at Tally's restaurant is across the street. It is worth the drive to Rapid City . .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I booked the Alex Johnson due to it's close proximity to Mount Rushmore and also based on many of the good reviews I read. This is a charming turn of the (20th) century hotel right in the center of downtown. They have done a lot of modern renovations, without compromising the old charm and character. The lobby is amazing. The rooms were a bit on the small size but when you're only there for one night it was perfectly fine. The beds we had were fantastic and appeared to be brand new, along with the beautiful linens including the bath robes. I loved this hotel! I don't think there was a restaurant in the hotel, but there was a Seattle's best coffee in the lobby. There were several pubs and restaurants within walking distance, which was worth the walk, just to admire all the bronze, life size sculptures of past president's. Even as Canadian we found this facinating. (Apparently GW Bush and Clinton are still in production and Obama won't be made until he becomes a "past president") There is a mini museum close to the hotel that stays open until 9:00 pm and they can give you a map showing where are the presidents are situated. Also attached to the hotel is a lovely little gift shop, however, I caution you that some of the jewellry they carry can be found in many of the stores in Keystone a bit cheaper. I found this out the hard way.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.