We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Room, Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Small Room, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Oh my,
We arrived into Rapid City mid-evening on July 4th without a reservation. We had a car breakdown so our schedule was completely off.
After trying 18 other hotels we tried the Alex Johnson. One room left. Yes!!!
Great staff at reception. They had just had a room cancelation so we got an excellent deal on the room.
Rooms are very small, but ours was nicely appointed, clean and quiet.
The restroom was so small I could hardly turn around. Nice toiletries.
The place has character and class. The vibe is probably best for a younger clientele.
Our only beef is that there is absolutely NO place to park a vehicle with a trailer for ten blocks. We ended up parking in a local lot which supposedly tickets starting at 6 am. We got back to the car at 7:15 and no ticket yet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    200
    94
    58
    29
See reviews for
129
252
44
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel was great. We arrived late in the evening (10 p.m.) and there was a complimentary shuttle from the airport to the hotel. The staff at the front desk were always helpful and cheerful. The room was small (it IS an old, historic hotel after all) but room enough for two. Comfortable beds, nice view, good working shower and TV. Didn't eat at the restaurant in the hotel but were directed to Tally's across the street for a very good breakfast and to the Independent Ale House, also across the street, for the best pizza ever. Hotel also has a wonderful lobby with lots to look at and an adjacent shop for browsing (and buying). The location of the Alex Johnson is perfect for walking to the town square, visiting the president statues on the town corners and although it is a little further, the wonderful Journey Museum.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am not sure why we chose this hotel, maybe because it was downtown. We arrived early (1pm) and had to park a half block away but went to see if we could check in early after driving 7 hours from Denver. Oh, no! Check-in was 4pm besides a room was not ready. So we inquired about parking. Well they had complimentary parking on the next block on the third (open top) level. We then took the opportunity to visit the Badlands (a must see!) until we were allowed to check in. We parked then struggled down three flights of stairs with suitcases (no elevator) into the rain. Finally we were checked in and asigned a room on the 9th floor. I opened the door and gasped. This very small room had 2 beds and a large armoir that didn't leave much space to manouver. I had never seen a hotel bathroom so small! I could practically shower, brush my teeth and use the toilet at the same time. By the only window in the room was a large tube taped against the window with cardboard and duct tap leading to a standing-on-floor A/C unit. A one cup coffee maker was on a table with two coffee pods, one decaf and one regular. We both drink regular! The next day upon returning to the room, we noticed that the housekeeper didn't do a very good job. e.g. A used coffee pod was still sitting on the table, in the bathroon a wash rag was still hanging in the shower and the soap box (empty) was still on the basin. This hotel is old but has no charm!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I want to apologize for not having a room available for you for a early check in. Our guaranteed check in time is 4:00 pm and if we can accommodate our guest with a earlier check in time we do. However, on this occasion we were unable to do so and I am sorry.
We do have a loading and unloading area in front of the hotel for the convenience of our guest as well as offering Valet parking.
We strive extremely hard to insure that each guest to our hotel receives the highest quality service and products. However we occasionally fall short of this high standard we have set for ourselves and I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.
Please accept my apologies for the experiences that may have caused your visit to be less than memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is in the middle of the town square, allowing you to walk to most any downtown destination. The hotel itself is historic with very cool features. My kids loved it! They loved all the details from the old elevators to the doorknobs. The family rooms were great for us-seperate rooms connected with a bathroom. You have to keep in mind that this is a very old historic hotel that has undergone a massive renovation. The rooms are not huge, but have plenty of room. Very clean with great views. Comfy beds, comfy air conditioning, comfy robes! They covered every detail. Our room was on the 9th floor by the Presidential suite-where 5 past Presidents have stayed. Just a really good experience. Tally's across the street is great and cheap for breakfast. Make sure to walk the square to see all of the Presidential statues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Bell captain Stuart has great passion for this hotel and it is contagious. He shared a lot of information with us when we showed an interest. The character of the hotel is unique. The private rooftop bar, Vertex, was enjoyable as well. We will be back, and we hope Stuart is still there when we get there.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concordia, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel was very nice. The staff was wonderful. However, if you have any mobility issues, this is not the place for you. The bathrooms are very tiny. Getting a walker into the bathroom was very difficult.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We chose Alex Johnson because it is an historic hotel in the downtown area. The room was small, filled with over-sized furniture, making navigation difficult. The desk chair would not slide under the desk so it had to be moved before you could get into the bed from that side. Bathroom was the disaster area with dirty grout, loose shower control, loose hook on back of door, and sloppily repaired hole in the door. The A/C vent was rusty in the bedroom. We were shorted coffee and when we requested it, it never came. On checkout we requested a chat with the manager to mention the above and complain about the $8.00 restoration fee (apparently not being used for its intended purpose) added to our bill. He was not available but we were assured he would contact us soon. Still waiting. Parking for the Hotel is a block away and there are many restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our establishment. We are a historic hotel and some of our rooms are smaller than the rooms you may find in newer hotel chains, however we do offer larger rooms such as Family Suites, Chairman Suites, and Junior Suites. We apologize for your experience during your stay and appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. We will be addressing these issues with the appropriate staff in order to better serve our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.