We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel with excellent dining!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel with excellent dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Spent only 1 night in this lovely hotel. I walked in and the lobby was beautiful with an awesome fireplace and fire going. I felt like I was walking to the past. The front desk staff was excellent! On the top floor is the Vertex Skybar - what great food! They also have a lot of really great speciality drinks and the view is outstanding. There is also a cute pub attached called Paddy O'Neils, Lots of fun! The rooms are cleans and spotless- I have to say they are small though and the entire bathroom is the size of a usual shower in most room. It was fine for me but anyone who is overweight would have trouble in this bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Historic Hotel Alex Johnson. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson has all the modern amenities that today's travelers need along with the Old World Charm that the modern cookie cutter chains lack. I appreciate you choosing the Hotel Alex Johnson and I look forward to your next visit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    185
    89
    55
    28
See reviews for
119
241
40
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brideport, NE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel for a great price in Rapid City, SD. It is located downtown & the shopping downtown is in walking distance from this hotel. The service we received while staying here was outstanding. Also a must see is the Vertex Skybar located on the top of this hotel; the views up there are amazing, lots of boutiques for great shopping all around the hotel & be sure to go through Art Alley just behind the hotel & see the awesome talent of people who've left their mark on the alley. Good restaurants to eat at within walking distance of the hotel, the Firehouse Brewing Company & Botticelli Restorante. The Rushmore Plaza Civic Center is just a a few blocks from the hotel if you are attending an event at the Civic Center. The parking was the only issue I had with staying here. You have to park in an uncovered parking garage which is a block away, that was a little inconvienent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Hotel Alex Johnson. The Alex Johnson is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and with it's convenient downtown location it is close to amazing shopping and dining experiences along with the new Main Street Square.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis MO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have stayed at the Alex Johnson numerous times during my business trips in Rapid City and I have had an exceptional experience each time. The building has character, historic charm, and an air of elegance; the rooms are comfortable,well-appointed and spotless. The staff is courteous and helpful. A large coffee house one can access from the lobby is a great place to relax or work on your laptop. I highly recommend the Alex Johnson for business travelers like myself who are tired of the same old chain rooms and want to have memorable experiences.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on the Hotel Alex Johnson. With our centrally downtown location we are a ideal location to headquarter out of when you are in the Rapid City area for either business or pleasure. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson has all the modern amenities that today's travelers need along with the Old World Charm that the modern cookie cutter chains lack. I appreciate you choosing the Hotel Alex Johnson and I look forward to your next visit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Dear AJ Hotel!!! What a trip we had!!! This was our 1st time to travel to Rapid City and we were traveling for the 1st time with our 3-month old daughter! ...driving to the hotel, we saw it was in a PERFECT location...in walking distance to everything! The character and feel of the hotel was perfect :-)! ...the best part was walking in and being greeted at the front desk by Laura! What treasure and such a beautiful soul with a smile as big as Texas! ...so kind and sweet and made our stay perfect! Our company booked us into a regular room...but given that we had our daughter and we were going to have TONS of people coming up to our room to see her as we were speaking at our company event that was being held there...Laura was so courteous to upgrade us to the next size room! ...she made our trip just perfect!!! Laura is a true asset to the Alex Johnson and definitely exemplary and a role model to all staff in very way! ...food was exception - I believe Nichole was her name in the Skybar! ...just wonderful! ...the whole experience was greatness! So...beautiful hotel - top notch and would highly recommend it to anyone we know going that way! Thanks, guys!!!

~Pam

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, I appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience at the Alex Johnson. We try our best to leave a positive impression to all of our guests that walk through the Alex Johnson's doors and I am glad the staff didn't disappoint. The Alex Johnson is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and with its Old World Charm and it's modern amenities it is the perfect place to call home while you are in the area.
I hope we can seve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you love historic hotels of the western variety this place is for you. It has been fully renovated and has a sweet wine bar on the top floor. We found the staff helpful and friendly and would definitely stay here again or recommend this place to others.

We thought we needed to stay in Keystone near Mount Rushmore but all that's there are motel types and very tiny private home b&bs. Rapid City is not far at all from various sites, especially if you are there off season as we were.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. The Hotel Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore the Black Hills. It it centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills and is a easy drive to all the must see attractions in the Black Hills such as Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park and the Badlands just to name a few.
The Alex Johnson is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and with it's convenient downtown location it is close to amazing shopping and dining experiences along with the new Main Street Square.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, South Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Laura was so helpful with getting us situated. I thought I had made a reservation, but it must not have gone thru, but Laura was able to get us a room at a great rate. We love the atmosphere and try to stay here whenever we stay in Rapid.

Room Tip: I would avoid being over the bar - it was a Friday night and it did get a little loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about the Hotel Alex Johnson. All of the staff at the Hotel Alex Johnson want to go above and beyond to make your stay a great one but I agree that Laura is Top Notch! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Alex Johnson we want to be your first choice for accomadations when traveling to the Black Hills Area. I hope we can seve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We were offered an "upgrade" to a split room at no charge. If you are offered this just say no as these rooms are wrapped around the elevators and u can hear the elivator machinery every time someone uses it. Also being that close to the elivator means that in the morning you hear the elivator chimes every time the sores open. The hotel could be a great place but they have put no effort to keep up the rooms, the carpet is badly stained and just generally rundown. This hotel is in the middle of downtown and well located for downtown activities.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. The Alex Johnson is a historic property and it has been updated recently but there is always more work to be done and I appreciate you pointing out areas for improvement. We value our guests and we want to assure you a safe stay, a clean room and the best rates in the Black Hills.
I hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves and show you the first class service and accommodations that we are normaly famous for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.