We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change of pace.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I travel a lot for business so I'm always staying in hotels. This was a nice change from your everyday average hotels. This building is older but has a lot of history that makes it unique. When you stay at this hotel they give you a key card that grants you access to the vertex sky bar on the top floor of the hotel. The bar is nice the food is ok but overall very expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I appreciate you taking the time to post about your stay. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson, with our Old World Charm and Modern amenities is the perfect place to head quarter out of when you are on the road for business or pleasure in the Black Hills.
Thank you for choosing the Historic Hotel Alex Johnson and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    175
    83
    54
    24
See reviews for
114
228
40
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sturgis, South Dakota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We attended a Christmas party in the Lincoln room and the food was fabulous. The bed in the room was also nice, I slept very well. What a great location for a banquet, you are close to many pubs and restaurants both in the AJ and within a few blocks.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Historic Alex Johnson is a great place to host your next event. With our ideal location in the heart of the newly renovated downtown Rapid City. We are close to a plethora of dining and shopping choices. I am glad that you had a enjoyable time and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Wonderful experience over the holiday with nice accomodations at a very reasonable price. The Thanksgiving dinner served in the skylounge was delicious. Stephanie at the front desk was very helpful prior to our arrival. She gave us tips on sites to see and routes to take that were very scenic, and would have been missed without her recommendations. A great family trip and the best place to stay in Rapid City!

Room Tip: Ask for the family suite. Two rooms with a common bath. A great rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review, I appreciate you taking the time to post your experience. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson is a great place to headquarter out of when you come to Rapid City and the Black Hills.
Thank you for choosing the Historic Hotel Alex Johnson and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I spent the previous night at the #3 rated motel and moved to the Alex Johnson because I couldn't sleep there. I am glad I did because the staff and management at the Alex Johnson were wonderful. I have stayed there many times but this time was even better. Everyone was helpful and professional.

From the bartenders to the bellboys to the front desk and the restaurant, everyone was welcoming and genuine. It felt like home. While the Vertex bar and restaurant on the top floor is expensive, the drinks were outstanding and the view while sitting around the fire pit is superb.

I would recommend this location over any of the box motels by the the interstate any day.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the west or south side. The trains are noisy on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review, I appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience at the Alex Johnson. We try our best to leave a positive impression to all of our guests that walk through the Alex Johnson's doors and I am glad the staff didn't disappoint. The Alex Johnson is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and with it's Old World Charm and it's modern amenities it is the perfect place to call home while you are in the area.
Thank you for choosing the Alex Johnson and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on several business trips and am always pleasantly surprised. Each time ive stayed my room is a little bit different. One room had a jungle theme with animal print furniture and decor and another room was so tiny that the door wouldn't open all the way because the bed was in the way. This hotel is very unique and old and it gets a little creepy at night but it's all part of the fun. The staff informed me that there is one room in the hotel that is known to be 'haunted' (if you like that sort of thing) that you can book in advance. Even riding the elevator will bring you back in time. The location is great, right downtown. There are plenty of bars and restaurants around to walk to.I have been here during the bike events and you can hear everyone partying all night long even from the top floor which is a little frustrating when you have to work early in the morning. Overall I would say this place is a great experience and I would recommend it especially for couples and a trip with friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your recent review and thank you for your patronage. We appreciate you choosing the Historic Alex Johnson for your home away from home when traveling to the area. The Alex Johnson is the only historic hotel in Rapid City and she holds many little secrets. With it's ideal location in the heart of the newly renovated downtown area the Alex Johnson is close to great shopping and dining options.
Thank you for choosing the Alex Johnson and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have stayed in several Rapid City hotels and decided to take the advice of the many comments on TripAdvisor--One of the smarter things I have done in my travels of the past several months. The room was delightful, the staff friendly, courteous and helpful. I will likely make the Alex Johnson hotel my hotel of choice in Rapid from now until I find a permanent home there. Great value for the price. The view from the eighth floor is awesome.

Room Tip: The view from the front rooms on the upper floors is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We would love to be your home away from home. The Alex Johnson is conviently located in the heart of newly renovated downtown area. Close to great shopping and dining experiences. The Alex is the only historic hotel in Rapid City and it offers the beauty and old world charm of yesteryear along with the mondern amenities that the traveling public expect today.
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Alex Johnson and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This was the prettiest hotel of all the hotels I have ever stayed. The staff was great. The view was fantastic. The beds were so comfortable that I didn't want to get up in the morning. My family and I stayed on the 8th floor which the paranormal floor. We were in room 810. We were hoping for some paranormal activity and we were not disappointed. My husband woke up both nights to someone or something standing in our room. I woke up to someone saying mom and moving stuff on the night stand. I thought it was my kids but when I looked both were sound asleep. If you are looking for a nice hotel with some chills this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore the Black Hills. It is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and is conveniently located in the heart of downtown close to amazing shopping and dining experiences along with the new Main Street Square. Our resident ghost are as friendly as our staff and they aim to please the vistor's searching for the paranormal.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#16 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;