We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Middleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Historic Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We agree with the EXCELLENT reviews by other people. The hotel is very nicely restored, the staff is friendly and helpful. The doorman was particularly helpful, and assured us that we would not be ticketed if we left our street parking place before 9:30 AM on Monday -- that worked out just fine. We stayed there on a Sunday night; so parking may be more challenging on other nights -- just ask the doorman.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Hotel Alex Johnson is the only historic hotel in Rapid City and is conveniently located in the heart of the newly revitalized downtown area. Close to amazing shopping and dining options. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can host you on a return trip in the future. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    168
    81
    51
    23
See reviews for
113
221
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ruston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I live in the Black Hills and wanted a little weekend getaway. We decided to stay at the Hotel Alex Johnson as we knew it had been renovated and had a bit of an uplift. We were so happy we chose to stay here. The service was fantastic. The gal at the front desk was genuinely friendly as well as helpful. She suggested we try the Vertex bar on the rooftop. Once again, great service with a phenomenal view as well as some cozy fire pits to add to the atmosphere.

Our room was 100% clean and tidy. We certainly had a hard time getting out of bed in the morning because the beds were absolutely heaven.

I'd recommend this hotel to locals and travelers alike. Another plus, we were allowed to have our dog stay with us as well at a minimal cost.

Hotel Alex Johnson is also in a fantastic location. Downtown Rapid City with easy access to get up into the hills. Thanks for such a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the west. Great views of the Black Hills!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson is a great place to escape from the everyday world. Ideally located in the heart of the newly renovated downtown area close to amazing boutique shops and gourmet dining. We are pet friendly and we even like the occasional kid.
Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will return again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wow! What a nostalgic hotel. You just don't see hotels like this any more. This is a throwback in time but kept up very nicely. Everyone working at the hotel was very friendly. We were on a business trip and asked for two beds. We were able to get a room with two separate bedrooms, really nice! We ate in the hotel sports bar and the nachos were awesome. Great bartender too. We went up on the roof to check out the members only club... The club is open to hotel guests? wow this place was super nice with great views of the city and heated seating with fire accents to really tell you that this place is really top notch. I would love to go stay there again with my wife, she would love it. Really affordable room rates.

Room Tip: Old hotel, but all rooms kept very nice, but can be broken up a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson is in the heart of the newly renovated downtown area with amazing shopping and dining options within a short walk in any direction along with being next door to the Main Street Square and all the exciting activities and events that it has to offer. The Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore the Black Hills.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is wonderful had a great stay the entire 6 days we were there had a great view on the 7 th floor housekeeper crystal was really sweet and helpful kept our room neat and tidy our entire stay she recommended breakfast at tallys silverspoon across the street from lobby the food was yummy.just didn't like to park so far away from hotel three flights of stairs with no elevator.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore Rapid City and the Black Hills. It is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and is conveniently located in the heart of downtown close to amazing shopping and dining experiences along with the new Main Street Square. We do have Valet Parking available for a small fee or free parking just a block away.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When was the last time the front door was opened for you every time you entered the hotel? And the hotel room was a reasonable price? Well, with this hotel you get both and a rich history experience to boot. Parking is a little unhandy. If you don't use the valet you have to walk a fair piece to get to your vehicle. But the inconvenience pales when you walk in the front doors. Believe me, the photos on the website don't do this place justice. The handiwork in the lobby is awesome (make sure you look up at the ceiling). A nice little gift shop (allbeit, a little on the expensive side), Seattle's best coffee shop, a small pub in the hotel and great restaurants right around the corner make it easy to rechage your batteries. Personal service and neat, though dated, rooms that are spotless and they have all the modern conveniences and very comfortable beds. Even my wife's high standards were satisfied, and that's saying alot. Combine this with Rapid City, which is one of the cleanest cities we've ever been to, makes it a real value. One hint. The rooms are very small, so get a suite, they combine two rooms that affords enough room for couples and small families.

Room Tip: Get a suite, not a regular room. They are quite small. The pub downstairs has great fish and chips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Historic Alex Johnson is located in the heart of the newly renovated downtown area close to wonderful shopping and dining experiences. The Alex Johnson is the only historical hotel in the Rapid City area and the mix of Old World Charm along with the modern amenities that the todays travelers want and need. Thank you for staying with us and I hope we can be your home away from home on your next visit to the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just walked in to see the lobby and liked the place so much that we stayed for the night. We got an excellent off-season rate. The location was perfect. The Irish pub next door had great Happy Hour prices. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson is in the heart of newly renovated downtown area, close to spectacular shopping and dining opportunities. The Alex is the only historic property in the Rapid City area and gives off the old-world charm while offering the modern amenities that our traveling public require. Thank you for staying at the Alex Johnson Hotel and I hope we can host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is on the historic list for South Dakota. The room was very small (as expected for a
old hotel) but the window didn't open and there was no fan. It was super hot and very stuffy.
Plus during the night we were bitten many times. Not sure if it was bed bugs but it was very painful. The bathroom was also less than desirable. We have stayed in several historic hotels
but this one was not at all enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Alex Johnson is a historic property and it has been updated recently but there is always more work to be done and I appreciate you pointing out areas for improvement. We take any hint of bed bugs very seriously, and this is why we have become a licensed ThermaPure contractor. This technology is guaranteed to eradicate bed bugs the first time and permanently. This high tempature heat process uses no chemicals whatsoever, so you can rest assure you and your loved ones are safe from possible toxic exposure. We value our guests and we want to assure you a safe stay, a clean room and the best rates in the Black Hills.
I hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves and show you the first class service and accommodations that we are normaly famous for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.