We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
1 review
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is wonderful had a great stay the entire 6 days we were there had a great view on the 7 th floor housekeeper crystal was really sweet and helpful kept our room neat and tidy our entire stay she recommended breakfast at tallys silverspoon across the street from lobby the food was yummy.just didn't like to park so far away from hotel three flights of stairs with no elevator.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore Rapid City and the Black Hills. It is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and is conveniently located in the heart of downtown close to amazing shopping and dining experiences along with the new Main Street Square. We do have Valet Parking available for a small fee or free parking just a block away.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    200
    94
    59
    29
See reviews for
129
253
44
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When was the last time the front door was opened for you every time you entered the hotel? And the hotel room was a reasonable price? Well, with this hotel you get both and a rich history experience to boot. Parking is a little unhandy. If you don't use the valet you have to walk a fair piece to get to your vehicle. But the inconvenience pales when you walk in the front doors. Believe me, the photos on the website don't do this place justice. The handiwork in the lobby is awesome (make sure you look up at the ceiling). A nice little gift shop (allbeit, a little on the expensive side), Seattle's best coffee shop, a small pub in the hotel and great restaurants right around the corner make it easy to rechage your batteries. Personal service and neat, though dated, rooms that are spotless and they have all the modern conveniences and very comfortable beds. Even my wife's high standards were satisfied, and that's saying alot. Combine this with Rapid City, which is one of the cleanest cities we've ever been to, makes it a real value. One hint. The rooms are very small, so get a suite, they combine two rooms that affords enough room for couples and small families.

Room Tip: Get a suite, not a regular room. They are quite small. The pub downstairs has great fish and chips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Historic Alex Johnson is located in the heart of the newly renovated downtown area close to wonderful shopping and dining experiences. The Alex Johnson is the only historical hotel in the Rapid City area and the mix of Old World Charm along with the modern amenities that the todays travelers want and need. Thank you for staying with us and I hope we can be your home away from home on your next visit to the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just walked in to see the lobby and liked the place so much that we stayed for the night. We got an excellent off-season rate. The location was perfect. The Irish pub next door had great Happy Hour prices. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson is in the heart of newly renovated downtown area, close to spectacular shopping and dining opportunities. The Alex is the only historic property in the Rapid City area and gives off the old-world charm while offering the modern amenities that our traveling public require. Thank you for staying at the Alex Johnson Hotel and I hope we can host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is on the historic list for South Dakota. The room was very small (as expected for a
old hotel) but the window didn't open and there was no fan. It was super hot and very stuffy.
Plus during the night we were bitten many times. Not sure if it was bed bugs but it was very painful. The bathroom was also less than desirable. We have stayed in several historic hotels
but this one was not at all enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Alex Johnson is a historic property and it has been updated recently but there is always more work to be done and I appreciate you pointing out areas for improvement. We take any hint of bed bugs very seriously, and this is why we have become a licensed ThermaPure contractor. This technology is guaranteed to eradicate bed bugs the first time and permanently. This high tempature heat process uses no chemicals whatsoever, so you can rest assure you and your loved ones are safe from possible toxic exposure. We value our guests and we want to assure you a safe stay, a clean room and the best rates in the Black Hills.
I hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves and show you the first class service and accommodations that we are normaly famous for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, MA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. Mainly stayed here because we have a dog and they like dogs. The hotel is right in the historic area of Rapid City. Very, very nice area. Lots of interesting shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is quite old and rooms are small. The lobby is beautiful and if you like old and historic places this is for you. Pay special attention to the lobby. The staff here were very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson is in the heart of the newly renovated downtown area with amazing shopping and dining options within a short walk in any direction along with being next door to the Main Street Square and all the exciting activities and events that it has to offer. The Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore the Black Hills.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We just stayed at this hotel last weekend! Coming from Scottsdale, AZ (where we are very spoiled), we were very impressed with the accommodations! Clean, full of history, comfortable, and a wonderful staff were just some of what impressed us. We will be back and send all of our friends and family. Oh yes....love, love the rooftop bar!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore the Black Hills. It is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and is conveniently located in the heart of downtown close to amazing shopping and dining experiences along with the new Main Street Square.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you are travelling without a car this is the best hotel in Rapid City to stay at. You can arrange a free shuttle service to/from the airport and the hotel is perfectly situated near many of the city's restaurants and galleries. You will be greeted at the door and efficiently dealt with at the front desk. Remember it is a historic hotel and as a consequence the rooms are not large. We had a twin bedded room for 3 nights, only a desk chair and not room for a second. Housekeeping good. Bathroom small and no powered fan.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore the Black Hills. It is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and is conveniently located in the heart of downtown close to amazing shopping and dining experiences along with the new Main Street Square.
With free shuttle service to and from airport it is ideal for the customer who needs a downtown locationwithout the hassle of a car rental or those traveling with a car we offer free parking only a block away or take advantage of our valet parking.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.