We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Natick, MA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. Mainly stayed here because we have a dog and they like dogs. The hotel is right in the historic area of Rapid City. Very, very nice area. Lots of interesting shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is quite old and rooms are small. The lobby is beautiful and if you like old and historic places this is for you. Pay special attention to the lobby. The staff here were very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson is in the heart of the newly renovated downtown area with amazing shopping and dining options within a short walk in any direction along with being next door to the Main Street Square and all the exciting activities and events that it has to offer. The Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore the Black Hills.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    198
    93
    58
    29
See reviews for
124
249
43
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We just stayed at this hotel last weekend! Coming from Scottsdale, AZ (where we are very spoiled), we were very impressed with the accommodations! Clean, full of history, comfortable, and a wonderful staff were just some of what impressed us. We will be back and send all of our friends and family. Oh yes....love, love the rooftop bar!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore the Black Hills. It is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and is conveniently located in the heart of downtown close to amazing shopping and dining experiences along with the new Main Street Square.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you are travelling without a car this is the best hotel in Rapid City to stay at. You can arrange a free shuttle service to/from the airport and the hotel is perfectly situated near many of the city's restaurants and galleries. You will be greeted at the door and efficiently dealt with at the front desk. Remember it is a historic hotel and as a consequence the rooms are not large. We had a twin bedded room for 3 nights, only a desk chair and not room for a second. Housekeeping good. Bathroom small and no powered fan.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore the Black Hills. It is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and is conveniently located in the heart of downtown close to amazing shopping and dining experiences along with the new Main Street Square.
With free shuttle service to and from airport it is ideal for the customer who needs a downtown locationwithout the hassle of a car rental or those traveling with a car we offer free parking only a block away or take advantage of our valet parking.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here based on the hotel's listing in the "historic" hotels website and was not disappointed.
The hotel has maintained its historic character and "brutal" charm. (Think 1920's - not Victorian)
The location in the Rapid City downtown is handy for a walking tour of the area with a visit to the Prairie Edge Trading and Art shop a must. While our room was small (With hindsight I should have booked a suite for the limited extra cost.) it was comfortable for the one evening. The lobby was pleasant to spend time in and the staff were all friendly. The provision of a "special" arrangement for access to the rooftop lounge was appreciated and good value for the food and drink.

Room Tip: As I wrote earlier - rooms are somewhat small and given the cost of the suites, that would be worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore the Black Hills. It is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and is conveniently located in the heart of downtown close to amazing shopping and dining experiences along with the new Main Street Square.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It was my first time staying at the Alex Johnson hotel. It is a beautiful historic hotel. Pleasant experience from the moment we stepped out of the car. We were greeted by a very professional dressed doorman who offered to park our car (which we declined. $15 is a little steep) and helped with our luggage. Front desk staff was very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. We checked out both bars during our stay which were amazing. Only down fall is the food. The roof top bar is quite pricy for both drinks and food. The main floor bar is very resonably price and has a great selection of beer. The food menu however is horrible. Defianetly not what you would expect for an irish pub. The quailty of the food was poor and showed a lack of pride from the kitchen staff. The O'neill Burger was undercooked and the Fish and Chips is not worth the $11. 3 small pieces of fish and a ton of french fries. Overall we would stay at this hotel again but defiantely not eat there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore the Black Hills. It is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and is conveniently located in the heart of downtown close to amazing shopping and dining experiences along with the new Main Street Square.
I appreciate your comments concerning the food and we are in the process of making changes to both the Vertex and Paddy O'Neil menus so hopefully on your next visit you will see the improvements.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean and quiet, even with a soccer tournament in town. The bar downstairs was friendly and accommodating with a good beer and liquor selection. Quite the history with the hotel, definitely the place to stay while your visiting Rapid City.
One suggestion would be to a avoid the restaurant on the top floor, it's not quite up to what they're trying to do. Small portions and an overly proud staff. The food was okay, but not top flight. JMO!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore the Black Hills. It is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and is conveniently located in the heart of downtown close to amazing shopping and dining experiences along with the new Main Street Square.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I will share your comments with the Chef along with the Vertex staff in order to improve upon our service. Thank you and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I couldn't believe we got a room here for under $ 70.00. We were hit with a $8.95 Historic Hotel Fee(?), but still a bargain nonetheless. The lobby is amazing.The room was nice with an amazingly comfortable king bed, but the bathroom decor was 70's cheap. This hotel was once a Sheraton but now is part of Choice Hotels. There is an skybar on the roof. There is a giant Seattle's Best Coffee and an Irish Pub on ground level. Food options are limited, but there are some nice restaurants around the corner. Parking is a block down in a multistory garage. The hotel is mentioned as the Sheraton Alex Johnson several times by Cary Grant in Hitchcock's North by Northwest but no scenes are shown in the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay here for the history. The lobby alone is worth a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore the Black Hills. It is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and is conveniently located in the heart of downtown close to amazing shopping and dining experiences along with the new Main Street Square.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future.
FYI. You sound like a movie buff so I will also let you know that Kevin Costner and his crew stayed here during the filming of Dances with Wolves and had their nightly recap meetings in the Jefferson Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.