We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can we say YUMMY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philly Ted's

Philly Ted's
1415 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701
605-348-6113
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 213 Restaurants in Rapid City
Cuisines: Sandwiches
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Mount Vernon, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can we say YUMMY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place is fun, love reading the signs while we waited for our food. I have only eaten there 1 time, but I would go back, very filling and not too pricey!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    56
    15
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roselle, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Philly cheesesteaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Philly Ted's is just a little place tucked in a small strip mall in Rapid City. There are a few small tables tucked next to the kitchen and a couple of tables outside. They have the best steak sandwiches and at a good value. You get about a 12 inch sandwich for around $6, depending on the toppings you choose. They slice the beef fresh, very thinly and cook it to perfection. We had to stop back in to get a sandwich for the way home to Chicago because we craved the sandwiches our entire stay in the Mt. Rushmore area. Try Philly Ted's, you won't be dissapointed!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“#1 Ranking Well Deserved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

When we're in Rapid for lunch, unquestionably, Philly Ted's is our destination. When they say it's the best you'll have outside Philadelphia, I beg to differ, because I've been to Phillly and eaten cheesesteak there, and Ted's is EVERY BIT as good! The sandwich I like is MESSY and the only advice I could give would be to bring your own napkins, or wet naps like if you were eating ribs. Seating is limited, but they have a table/chair outside when the weather is cooperative. Ted's is terrific and even if you are just passing thru Rapid, it's just a few blocks south of I-90 at the LaCrosse St exit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison GA
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Don't miss this sandwich shop and Ted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Sandwiches made fresh and from scratch to order as taught by the owner who is from Philly. Ted and his food are great!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“CANNOT BEAT THIS!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Philly Ted's makes the best phillys ANYWHERE! They are so yummy and CHEESY! I have always received what I paid for; plus a little. They are definitely the best place to eat in this city!! I will never stop eating at Philly Ted's!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philly Ted's also viewed

 

Been to Philly Ted's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philly Ted's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.