We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sleep for a bargain, wish they managed it better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Rapid City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Rapid City to your Saves list
Travelodge Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 Mount Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 25%
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great sleep for a bargain, wish they managed it better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I really wanted to give more stars to this property. I enjoyed 5 good nights of sleep here, and although the rooms are a little old, it is clean and offered the comfort you need for the bargain price (especially cos I got it via a name-your-own-price deal from a certain website).

Pros : Hot soup and cookie available at 5pm - nice after a day out in the winter cold to have a little snack before heading out for dinner. Good speed free wifi.

Cons : The breakfast is of really poor selection and is managed rather poorly. When they ran out of bread and we requested for some, we were told they are refrigerated and will be cold. We said we didn't mind and then 4 pieces came out in a tray. 4! (We were a party of 6). On another day, when the bagels ran out and another couple requested for some, 1 bagel was brought out. 1! The most horrifying part was when we noticed the yogurt served was expired 2 days before. We decided to walk to the nearby restaurant for an excellent paid breakfast experience instead.

So all in all a good stay, but the breakfast and service took about 1.5 stars off.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were disappointed with the breakfast. At the time you stayed at our Best Western, we were in the process of changing our breakfast option, and we were using up the products we still had on hand. We are now offering coupons at the Colonial House Restaurant, number one in the Black Hills, for a sit down made to order meal. I am sorry you were not offered that option. Your comments are appreciated, and I do hope we can make your next stay a much more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    123
    77
    41
    18
See reviews for
118
116
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I was impressed by the overall experience. From check in to check out our stay was great. They allowed pets. The rooms were very clean with comfortable beds. I was also impressed by the delicious continental breakfast that had many choices. The staff was all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
It is great to hear such positive remarks from our guests. We place a huge emphasis on customer service, and we are pleased that you were impressed with the service we provided. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I grew up in Rapid City and when I return this is where I stay. The location is perfect for me and easy to find for tourists. I want a cheap room and a good nights sleep and they always deliver. Friendly and helpful staff are a bonus. There are cheaper rooms in town—I've tried some. However I quit trying to save a couple dollars knowing I'd get a clean room, a decent bed and a pretty good breakfast. I think it's a great blend of quality and value. It's an older property but I like the ambiance— just don't expect the usual chain experience, relax and enjoy the experience, and the savings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Best Western. It is our policy to provide our guests with the best possible service, and we are pleased we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel which is on the main drag of Rapid City. It has a great staff who are extremely helpful and nice rooms. The rooms are clean and nicely updated and very comfortable. They have complimentary soup in the lobby at night (beer cheese when we went) and it was really good. The traffic on Rushmore Road is pretty heavy, but we never heard it in our room. Highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay.

Room Tip: We had room 120, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary soup and cookies. They are a great favorite with our guests. It is always nice to hear such positive remarks about the hotel, and the staff will be pleased that they exceeded your expectations. Our door is always open, and we hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in this beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wykel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

very nice hotel, rooms are dated but clean and well kept. They also include a very nice breakfast. you can't beat the price either! We would stay again! Bed was comfortable, quite location. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Best Western. In the fall of 2013, we will be renovating our rooms, and we are sure you will enjoy the new look. Thank you for review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our party of three adults enjoyed staying in two king balcony rooms. The staff at check-in and check-out were very friendly and helpful and I have to make a special mention of Chuck. The motel offers a nice touch of complimentary soup/chilli in the lobby at 5.00pm but boy you have to be quick or you will miss out especially if there are any families with large numbers staying. Breakfast was fine but I am sure that the breakfast room might have trouble in peak season. Our beds were very comfortable and the room very well maintained and clean. Great to have the car parked right outside the door of the room but to actually have the front of the room with a balcony and not on ground level. Wi-Fi played up for us the first evening but Chuck and Nicholas did all they could to help. Things improved from the next morning after I connected to the wi-fi network in the lobby area. Being from Australia we were quite taken with the fact that BW had its own snow plough on hand. Fortunately, it was needed whilst we were in residence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I will make to sure to let my employees know their services were appreciated. It is always nice to hear such positive feedback. We hope to see you again the next time you are in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasta, South Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a nice hotel for the money. I wouldn't recommend for families. The rooms are small. This must be an older property, Some of the areas haven't been modernized as of yet. The pool is on a hillside and there are a lot of steps between the upper rooms and the office where the breakfast is held.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. During the fall of 2013, we will begin renovating our rooms. I think you will enjoy the new look. If you are ever in this area, I hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#38 of 53 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
3.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#19 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
#7 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Rapid City

Address: 2505 Mount Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Town & Country Hotel Rapid City
Best Western Town And Country Inn
Best Western Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western
Rapid City Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.