We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 N Fifth St., Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
spottybug
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2005

We had an excellent stay here while we were in Rapid City! We were very impressed with the renovations. Our room was spotlessly clean, and very nicely decorated and up-to-date. The bed linens and furnishings were lovely. This is not your average Holiday Inn!

The front desk staff were superb and very friendly and helpful! If you are a Priority Club member (free at holidayinns.com) you will receive a free drink coupon for each day that you stay.

We had a very nice breakfast in the atrium each morning, and service was very friendly as well. We found the room to be very reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    208
    60
    18
    14
See reviews for
178
111
21
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2005

-Workers were all crabby & extremely rude. Management was no better. We had a confirmation for a King room in nonsmoking due to my husband severe allergies to smoke. We even called the hotel before arrival to confirm. When we arrived they had given away our room even though we had a credit card down. All they said was that they had 3 rooms left in smoking. When we said we needed the nonsmoking & the reasons, they just shrugged their shoulders & giggled and said we don't have nonsmoking. We ended up leaving without a room & we will definately be watching our credit card bill to see if they charged us. Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2005

I have to say I was pleasantly suprised by the Rushmore Plaza. They were above my expectations. The service was pheonominal and the accomdations were clean and very nice. The lobby are is absolutely stunning and everything was so clean. The desk staff was excellent as well as the restaurant. If you want a great value and great service this is the place

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2005

This hotel is super pretty! I thought Rapid City would not have a hotel of this caliber, but we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has great food and service. Maybe everyone in the midwest is this nice, but we really loved it! Great location and staff and food and rooms! We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2005

I stayed for 3 nights at this property, and was very happy. It is definitely an above average HI. The property has been renovated so everything is new and clean. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms appear to be oversized. The bar had a decent selection of wines, and the one time we dined in the hotel the food was good and served quickly. I would highly recommend this as a very good buy!

Stayed April 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn Febuary 12th to 15th and it was awsome. The staff was courteous, helpful and caring. They even went out of their way to get some cold medicine for me at a nearby store. It was amazing the service we received. The hotel is undergoing some renovations which will make it even more beautiful. The food was good and the rooms extremely clean. This is one of the better Holiday Inns I have stayed at. The friendly staff is what made the place.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2005

Worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in. Ignorant, untrained staff, mattresses like a slab of granite, overpriced on everything. Charged the room to the wrong credit card TWICE and the first time was to someone else's card! This place sucks! Stay home or go someplace else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Address: 505 N Fifth St., Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the Fountain Court Lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Grille. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.