We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for business, really enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 N Fifth St., Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Sutherland, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Went for business, really enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

With the exception of only one elevator working, our stay at the Holiday Inn Rushmore Plaza was very pleasant. The sleeping room was spacious and clean, and the meeting rooms were very convenient. The convention staff took care of all of our needs, and graciously helped with all of the special requests we made. They definitely went over and above in making our meeting a success. The hotel is located just north of the downtown area, adjacent to the Convention Center and across the street from the Journey Museum. Directly to the south is the park along Rapid Creek with walking trails, a pond and lots of grassy area. The lounge onsite has a good selection of craft beers (a plus in my book), and the restaurant serves up an excellent menu.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We appreciate your business and your review. I apologize for the inconvenience of having only one operational elevator. We are in the final stages of upgrading our elevators to ensure a faster and more energy efficient product. Thank you for your patience and I hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    209
    61
    18
    15
See reviews for
180
111
21
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I would definitely stay at this hotel again! Great service, immaculate rooms and great accommodations. The staff was always helpful. The property is well kept and location was great. It was easy to navigate the city and get to the highways.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for being a guest at our hotel. We appreciate your business and your kind remarks. We look forward to your return.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The rooms were clean and modern, but I expect that from every hotel I stay in.

The restaurant was very reasonably priced with excellent food. The lounge also had nice ambiance and well-mixed cocktails.

But the place where this hotel really shines is people.

Tawana and Savanna were delightfully charming with a perfect blend of professionalism and cordiality. It's obvious that the staff at RPHI take their jobs seriously and enjoy working with each other. It's rare these days to see a staff so committed to providing such high quality customer service.

I'm already looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize the service you received from Twana and Savannah. We take great pride in servicing our guests. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurelia, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel through hotwire on my smartphone due to inclement weather. I paid for the room through the website and was later charged a second time through the hotel in error, one call to Stephanie and everything was sorted out and credited back to my account. Mistakes happen, it's how you remedy them that matter. Which is why I gave 5 stars all around to this hotel. Beautiful place too!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your great message about Stephany quickly fixing an error in billing. We appreciate the great review and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Over the last 3 years, we've stayed at this hotel for everything from our honeymoon to hockey to stock shows. The staff has always been extremely warm and helpful. Savanah and the front desk crew always go out of their way to ensure an enjoyable stay. While the hotel itself is getting a little worn and needs some updating, the overall atmosphere more than makes up for it.

Enjoying a toddy in the lounge and avoiding the post-game traffic is the only way to go.

The best restaurant deal in town is the Friday night surf and turf with all-you-can-eat prime rib and crab legs!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to comment. We really appreciate your loyalty over the past 3 years. I am so happy to see you recognized Savannah's great service. She goes above and beyond every day and we are so lucky to have her on our team. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during christmas eve and requested a room facing the front so that I could enjoy the snow. The hotel is without a doubt beautiful. The lobby was festive with great decorations and felt homey even though it was expansive. The rooms on each floor is built around the atrium and the elevators are glass. There are waterfalls and many chairs for sitting and enjoying in the lobby. I went to the open bar and ordered some food from the kitchen and it was really good!! Actually, I had eaten lunch at this hotel before and KNEW the food was great. The staff is exceptional. Very, very helpful and accommodating. And, of course, the rooms were high-end standard. I enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear thehermit,

Thank you for spending Christmas Eve with us. We value your business and really appreciate your wonderful comments. I am so happy you enjoyed your time at the Holiday Inn Rushmore Plaza and Rapid City. Please visit us again.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nephi, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The front desk staff at this hotel were so kind. My bag got lost by the airline and because I was on an organized tour and was out all day the front desk kept calling to locate it and when it arrived sent it to my room so it was waiting for me. The coffee shop in the lobby was such a nice facility and I liked being able to walk into town too. My tour operator chose the hotel and they really did make the best choice, even though I doubt it was the cheapest they could have found like most tour companies seem to do these days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for your review titled GREAT HOTEL! We really appreciate your business and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We love hearing great comments and hope to see you again soon.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Address: 505 N Fifth St., Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the Fountain Court Lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Grille. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.