We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twelve Days At A Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 N Fifth St., Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Island Park, New York, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Twelve Days At A Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is very well kept and spotless. It is decorated beautifully for Christmas. All the staff at the hotel, from the front desk staff to the restaurant staff and the housekeeping staff are the most helpful and friendliest people that I have ever met. I spent 12 days in a beautiful two room suite facing the park. What a beautiful view. During my stay I met several managers of the hotel, Sherry Beck (hotel manager), Savannah (front office manager) Cindy (gift shop manager), Kelly (restaurant manager) and Dave Heard (night manager). I would like to give a special mention to a wonderful server named Nate. I had breakfast every morning in the restaurant and he was my server the majority of the time. What a pleasure he was, so nice and helpful. The hotel is centrally located in down town Rapid City and within walking distance to many wonderful shops and restaurants. There is a hotel shuttle van that will take you from and to the airport and drop you off and pick you up around town. The front desk staff is very knowlegable of the surrounding tourist spots, shopping, entertainment and restaurants. I joked with them that I could live here 365 days a year, this is how much of an enjoyable stay that I had at this hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling on business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a south facing view. This faces the park and downtown Rapid City
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for making the Holiday Inn- Rushmore Plaza your home away from home for 12 days. It was such a pleasure to have you here. It is comments such as yours that continue to make this team strive for excellence. I will make sure to share your feedback with the entire team.

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    147
    54
    15
    14
See reviews for
142
89
18
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great location for access to the Rapid City tourist attractions. Easy to find, close to the interstate and several food options. The room was very clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet, affording an excellent sleeping environment. The pool area was clean and well stocked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demaileron
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Excellent stay, great eats, easy free airport shuttle. Manager & staff very friendly, willing to help. Very fresh food, cozy but huge rooms, easy to use TVs and bath/shower controls (important in a hotel) Excellent indoor pool/hot tubs/sauna with ample towels.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time and look forward to serving you again. Best Regards, Sherry Beck/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, South Dakota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

During the State Volleyball Tournament 2012, our volleyball teams stayed at the Holiday Inn Rushmore Plaza. This hotel had great hospitality and customer service. One elevator was "down" and challenged us to use the stair with pedometers, helped with obtaining necessities forgotten at home, and even prepared a room with refreshments for the girls to hang out in. And the Chai Tea in the gift store is AMAZING!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We loved hosting all the Volleyball players this year. The girls were fun to interact with and seemed to really enjoy our Fitness Challenge in the Stairwell. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your business very much. I agree the Chai in our coffee shop is amazing. Hope to see you again very soon. Sherry Beck, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing, s.d.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stay in rapid on a regular basis and i dont think ive slept in a more comfortable bed, its centrally located in rapid so it is conveinent to use the shuttle to take you about anywhere you need to go. No continental breakfast but they do have a resturant

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. Our beds have a special, pillow top mattress topper designed just for our brand. I am so glad you were able to enjoy this as well as the complimentary shuttle service. We look forward to serving you again. Sherry Beck, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I brought my girls volleyball team for a state tournament and everything was fantastic. They must make their employees take NICE pills before they come to work each day! Top to bottom everyone was great! I strongly recommend The Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn! Coach N

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Coach N, Thanks you so much for taking the time to write a review. We all enjoyed hosting the Volleyball Players this year. They were such a great group of girls. Thank you for staying with us. Sherry Beck, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just stayed for three days and found this hotel centrally located, with a beautiful central atrium and waterfall and two indoor jacuzzis and pool which I unfortunately did not have time to enjoy. I stayed in a two room suite which was nicely appointed, roomy and quiet. My room had a refrigerator, two TV flat screens, microwave and soft clean bedding with a wonderful mattress. The amenities were average as we're the bathroom fixtures. The hotel dining room serving breakfast was excellent with good food at reasonable prices. I appreciated all service personnel at this facility, the employees at the front desk, and servers in the dining room. I enjoyed the happy hour the last night there...they had $5 beers and $5 pulled pork sandwiches which were HUGE, too big for just happy hour, and phenomenal! What a treat! The elevators weren't all working, but other than that I would recommend this property if you are going to Rapid City. There was plenty of close parking and it seemed like a friendly neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for the detailed review. We really appreciate your business and your feedback. I want to make sure and let you know that the downtime for the elevator is part of a renovation plan to make our elevators faster and more efficient. I can assure you this is only a temporary inconvenience. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, Sherry Beck, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Address: 505 N Fifth St., Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#9 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the Fountain Court Lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Grille. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.