We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 N Fifth St., Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Globe, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just stayed for three days and found this hotel centrally located, with a beautiful central atrium and waterfall and two indoor jacuzzis and pool which I unfortunately did not have time to enjoy. I stayed in a two room suite which was nicely appointed, roomy and quiet. My room had a refrigerator, two TV flat screens, microwave and soft clean bedding with a wonderful mattress. The amenities were average as we're the bathroom fixtures. The hotel dining room serving breakfast was excellent with good food at reasonable prices. I appreciated all service personnel at this facility, the employees at the front desk, and servers in the dining room. I enjoyed the happy hour the last night there...they had $5 beers and $5 pulled pork sandwiches which were HUGE, too big for just happy hour, and phenomenal! What a treat! The elevators weren't all working, but other than that I would recommend this property if you are going to Rapid City. There was plenty of close parking and it seemed like a friendly neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for the detailed review. We really appreciate your business and your feedback. I want to make sure and let you know that the downtime for the elevator is part of a renovation plan to make our elevators faster and more efficient. I can assure you this is only a temporary inconvenience. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, Sherry Beck, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    88
    49
    13
    13
See reviews for
101
53
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very good hotel, good buffet or from the menu breakfast, rooms very nice and in easy walking distance of downtown Rapid City. Very helpful and friendly stallf. Easy driving to Mount Rushmore and other attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hotel and staff, both 1st class.
The rooms are very spacious and beds very comfortable.
Nice little bar area for you to enjoy a drink, I didn't actually eat at the hotel but the food looked great.
The girls at reception were most helpful.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As a professional speaker I travel extensively and stay in many hotels. When I arrived at the hotel the kitchen had been closed for 10 minutes. Seeing my distress as I had not eaten all day, the front desk clerk called the kitchen and they offered to make me something.

Heidi Smart, the restaurant manager, made me what I requested and even added a little something extra. Then she personally not only delivered it to me, but insisted on helping me with my bags to my room. As I have a broken wrist which is still healing, I truly appreciated that she not only noticed, but was kind enough to help me.

The rest of my stay continued with excellent customer service from every single staff member I encountered.

If you ever visit the Rapid City area, I highly recommend you stay at this hotel. It is truly top notch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. At the Holiday Inn Rushmore Plaza, our guest comments mean a lot to us. We check for new reviews daily and we read them aloud weekly at a team meeting. Your opinion matters and Heidi will be recognized for her great service. Thank you again for the kind words. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel on TA reviews but was disappointed. This must have been a real showpiece once upon a time, but it's distinctly frayed around the edges and looks tired.
The grand atrium design is impressive but it acts like an echo chamber meaning noise below is amplified and is a nuisance.
The large king bed room we had was spacious but the bathroom was really small there were 2 TVs, a sofa & chair plus a desk & chair. Unfortunately the room was not that clean with areas under & behind furniture dusty, with previous occupants spillage left behind.
We used the restaurant for both breakfast & dinner, both of which were OK, but nothing special. Service was good.
On the 2nd night a wedding party was held which was very noisy. Someone smoked & set off the fire alarm in the evening which was promptly dealt with. Unfortunately it went off again at 1.30am, which wasn't funny - another false alarm.
At $165 a night I don't think this was good value and is not upto the standard of other HI's we have stayed in. Disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I want to personally apologize for your disappointment during your stay. I am sorry that the condition of the hotel was not up to our high standards and again for the noise disturbance. Thank you for letting us know.

We try to provide and quiet, peaceful environment so all of our guests have the best possible stay. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns to ensure others are not disappointed in the same way.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

A cockroach greeted me in the bathroom in the morning, and it's pal was running around the elevator lobby on my floor. Room decor is average; but the bugs are a let-down. When I informed the front desk when checking out, she just matter-of-factly wrote down the room number on a sheet of paper, and wasn't so surprised about this cleanliness issue.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We appreciate your making the effort to share your experience with us. You can be confident that we take comments about insects very seriously and have an adequate extermination program in place. I am not aware of any insect problem at the hotel and cockroaches are not common in South Dakota. I would very much appreciate an opportunity to look into this further.

It would be very helpful If you could please provide me with your room number and date stayed. I can be contacted by email at sherry.beck@rushmoreplaza.com or 605-348-4000.

I hope you will stay with us again soon. We value your patronage and look forward to serving you in the future. Sherry Beck- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

When in the hills I will not stay anywhere else. The front desk staff, Savannah for one, is the best. They go the extra mile in service. The rooms are nice and comfortable. Probably standard for the area. Their people set this hotel apart from others in the area I had stayed prior. They are awesome and make it worth coming back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Address: 505 N Fifth St., Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the Fountain Court Lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Grille. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.