We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 N Fifth St., Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
2 reviews
“Comfortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

From the moment I walked into the door, the staff has been very helpful! They are all ready to assist with any needs, major or minor! They have excellent customer service skills, which I find to be extremely appealing. The rooms are standard hotel rooms, not plush or overly done, and my room had some obvious signs of age and use (worn arm rests on the chairs & stained/worn carpetting). All staff members, from bartenders to restaurant employees to front desk were absolutely delightful! I did not meet one employee who was not kind & helpful. Thank you! I'll definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    146
    54
    15
    14
See reviews for
141
89
18
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The staff at this hotel was excellent and the manager Dave Heard was so very helpful. I had been injured with my foot and Dave arranged wheelchair rental for our shopping and then arranged the van taking me to airport to wheel me in airport and get me checked in and all. So very helpful!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to commend Dave and the team for their great service. We all appreciate your kind words. Wishing you a speedy recovery. Sincerely, Sherry Beck-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived after a 4 hour drive from Sioux Falls extremely tired and found out at check in we were not booked. My dad went to his credit card records and printed out the booking transaction, and found out we had booked it for last weekend. This is where the management WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND! Savannah went and had a room made in the Ballroom and we thought it will just be a few pull out beds, and we could NOT HAVE BEEN MORE THRILLED! We received a mini-fridge with complimentary Pepsi Products, 2 Amazing made beds with all the covers, a night stand with Lamp and clock with cups. They then got us a complimentary appetizer (It was delicious!) and got us a room for the next night. INCREDIBLE. Savannah was UNBELIEVABLY helpful! We are so happy, we are sending a Letter to Holiday Inn saying how the Staff needs some-sort of award/raise/recognition!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I am so proud of Savannah as I read your review. It is so rewarding to know that her hard work was noticed and appreciated. It is our goal to exceed the expectations of each and every guest. It makes me very happy to know this was your experience. I will make sure that Savannah is recognized for her great service and will share your review with the entire team. Thank you so much for taking the time. We appreciate your business very much. Sherry Beck, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Custer State Park. 2 adults and 3 kids under the age of 8.
The hotel is clean, looks new, staff were courteous.
The rooms are quite typical; they were able to bring in a roll away bed for us.
Beds are comfortable, bathroom neat.
We had room service one night and ate breakfast downstairs one night. Food was ok. Kids eat free for both meals if you go downstairs.
I haven't stayed at a Holiday Inn for many years, but this is exactly how I remember it from over a decade ago.
I don't know why the rates are so high for being in Rapid City, though.
The stay was fine; it doesn't incite any dislike or gushing; hence the title "Meh ... whatever"

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. My team and I read every review aloud and have great discussions in an effort to increase our services. If you have any suggestions that would change your opinion from "whatever" to "amazing" we would love the feedback. We hope you will allow us to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice, newer hotel. Bar and restaurant on site are very convenient. Draft beer prices are very reasonable (~$3.50 domestic drafts). Kids eat breakfast for free, which is nice. I would suggest the breakfast buffet for 10 bucks per adult which includes coffee.

Room was okay. The sheets and blankets are a little unconventional and took some getting used to, but the bed was otherwise comfortable. The room was clean but small. No place to sit and put your feet up to watch TV or use a laptop. There's a chair but no ottoman, and trying to sit in bed and use a laptop or watch TV is very uncomfortable due to a strange headboard and frame which are very uncomfortable.

The bathroom is very small and there is no external vanity or sink so it's very inconvenient if there are 2 or more people in your group. Also, strangely, there's no bathroom fan, and the small tiled room is basically an echo chamber so be advised. There are some nice washroom facilities off the lobby for what it's worth.

Other than that the lobby and building are clean and modern, a bit of a walk to downtown Rapid City but doable if you want to explore some local downtown shops or restaurants (beware the tourist traps - there are some good chains in town - we wound up at Ruby Tuesday's and really enjoyed it).

Decent proximity to Rushmore, but a bit of a drive to the Badlands. You can stay closer to both attractions if you want to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and will take your suggestions under advisement and turn your next stay into a great stay. Please let me know the next time you are in Rapid City. I would be happy to upgrade you to a Plaza Suite. This room has the extra sink that you are looking for as well as a spacious living room area. I would also encourage you to take the free hotel shuttle downtown or even Ruby Tuesday's if you like. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
605-348-4000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

After a long road trip our kids were elated about the late night swimming as the pool is open until midnight. The rooms were lovely with very plush comfy beds topped with numerous pillows of varying firmness. We had an excellent night of sleep and enjoyed a delicious buffet breakfast for only $10 per adult and our kids ate for free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night while on our trek back home from being out West. We spent the day seeing Mt. Rushmore and the Crazy Horse memorial, and needed to get on the road (I-90) early the next day, so it was a perfect location for us (literally 2 minutes from the interstate). Very easy to get to after visiting Rushmore; about a 25 minute drive or so (which takes you up through Rapid City) but it was not difficult to find at all.

The hotel has an impressive central atrium with eight stories of rooms surrounding it, and a huge waterfall in the lobby (needless to say, the kids were impressed). Very clean, relatively new-looking, which is nice since I was having a hard time finding a suitable place to stay at the last minute. The rooms were quiet, despite opening up onto the atrium. The kids enjoyed the pool, but my husband said the pool deck was extremely slippery so be careful (whether or not you have little ones; he had a hard time not slipping himself). We had dinner in the restaurant and the kids ate for free (one per paying adult) which was nice, though my son was disappointed that that mac 'n cheese was merely Kraft (but he is a food snob who likes salmon, so there you have it. Normal children would be fine). The food was decent, the prices were average (about $10 for a pasta dinner with salad, but not a large portion). We were so tired and didn't want to leave the hotel once we checked in, so it worked out. I will say that both the restaurant area and the bar were absolutely freezing; cold air was blowing on us the entire time (being that both areas were in the atrium and not enclosed). Bring a jacket and wear pants if you tend to get chilly.

There is a cute (very) small gift/coffee shop immediately as you enter the hotel; they have really good drip coffee that was a nice change of pace from the not-so-good McDonald's coffee I had been subsiding on (they did have an espresso machine as well). If you get a deal like we did for this hotel (around $110 a night), it's a good place to stay for either a stopover or to spend a little time in the Black Hills.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Address: 505 N Fifth St., Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#9 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the Fountain Court Lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Grille. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.