We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Pierre Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pierre Inn & Suites
205 W Pleasant Dr, Pierre, SD 57501 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Pierre
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Their website said rooms were remodeled with hardwood floors and recliners. When we got there, the room had carpet that looked 10 years old, wet and moldy ceiling tiles falling into the shower, and mud on the floor. My alarm clock did not work, and the replacement one they assured me would work had a faulty alarm. I was on a hunting trip and appreciated them allowing my well trained house dog in the room with me. The staff was rude and unfriendly, and my hunting partners' room did not get maid service for 2 days. There were large garbage containers in the parking lot where guests cleaned their fish and birds and they were not emptied the whole time (5 nights) we were there. There were garbage bags piled around the full garbage containers and they smelled horrible. I will definitely stay elsewhere on my next hunting trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Nasty rooom, no breakfast as advertised. Mold in the tub/shower. Blood and other stains on the bed spread, Carpet was absolutely disgusting. The couch was from anoter era far, far, in the past, as disgusting as the carpet. All other rooms in town were booked to capacity, so there was no other choice. Maid service is non exixtent, had to get clean towels from the desk at night. Our family booked 2 seperate rooms, both a pit of dispair.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

It was 106 that day. Luckily I was in a first floor room because upstairs on that south side of the building, as I saw on the way to do laundry, was like a solar oven. The walkway was glassed in and even with windows open it was beyond belief. I don't know if anyone was staying up there but there was trash in bags and just here and there on the floor. I caught a mourning dove and released it out the window before its little brains were fried. My room had a bullet hole in the window that didn't open. The room was large and even had a recliner which was a first for me in a motel. It had a fridge and microwave. As with all the rooms I've had in SD, it was clean. The rooms on the other side had a much nicer setting with trees. It was convenient to a grocery store, restaurants, and downtown. It cost more than the Capitol Inn on the other side of town and wasn't as nice. If the Capitol Inn were full I would consider staying here but not otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Stayed one night and that was more than enough! The main sleeping area was alright but you sure didn't want to use the bathroom. It was filthy, the toilet hadn't been cleaned in who knows how long, there were dead and living bugs in the bathroom and the floor in the bathroom was filthy to the point I took my sandals in with me so I didn't have to touch the floor after my shower. I was very disappointed in this hotel. The staff was fine but the manager should check the work of his staff to be sure things are cleaned, he was not surprised when I told him the bathroom was filthy and had bugs in it. I wouldn't recommend staying there.

  • Liked — staff was friendly
  • Disliked — filthy bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

I can't say enough about this place. My husband and I stay in alot of hotels during the year. We stayed last year and went back this year. We will continue to stay in this hotel as long as its around. Wonderul rooms and beds. We were met with a beer as well!! Very friendly people and terrific rates. Its the only hotel know of that goes DOWN in its rates for Sturgis. Horray to you!!!! Mimi & Tom, Wayzata, MN

  • Liked — The Bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento,California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

Your courtesty and professional approach, made our stay in Pierre, SD more that it would have been without our contact with your establishment. The breakfast that you prepared and served for us, was a touch that I and my wife will talk about for a long time and we will refer anyone that travels your way to your refuge away from home. Thanks so much ..........Dave and Jo Ann

  • Liked — The overall consideration to us as tired travelers, immediately we were placed important.
  • Disliked — Street parking and the neighborhood a little rough.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

This is not a new property, and they did not try to sell it as one.
I called and made the reservations a week in advance, we had a room with two queen size beds, no complaints. One of the big reasons we chose this hotel was that they offer a hot breakfast. After a comfortable nights rest we returned to the office to see what they had for breakfast. They had us go into a kitchen, like you would have at home, sit down and they started cooking us breakfast, just like you would at home, fried eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, coffee, and orange juice. They served us, talked for awhile and away we went. Very nice people
I will be staying there next time I have the opportunity to visit Pierre.
**Just a note for the manager, I still remember the secret word,
look forward to seeing you again.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — No chairs outside of room
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pierre Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre Inn & Suites

Address: 205 W Pleasant Dr, Pierre, SD 57501 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pierre Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.