We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Inn Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Inn Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Kings Inn Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 E. Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Pierre
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed here for one nite on a Road Scholar tour. Actually I was in the motel for only a short time between dinner & going to sleep, but it was quite adequate. An interesting touch was providing a few ragged washcloths dyed pink & blue to use for removing makeup &/or cleaning shoes. I liked that because I hate staining white motel washcloths when removing makeup. Our group was too large for the breakfast room, so the manager provided a private hot breakfast for us in a conference room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
8
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alfred, ND USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Staff were friendly at check in and check out. Good breakfast - waffles, sausage and biscuits, eggs, and the regular cereal, toast, rolls, etc. Room was clean and tidy. Network access was good. Bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

part of cosmos coach tour found it clean walmart near only comment the water tasted weird no illness though

Room Tip: breakfast included very nice touch, part of coach tour .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Part of a group tour at a time when the weather threatened to disrupt our stay and sightseeing. Fortunately the hotel was sufficiently far enough away from the river and on higher ground to dispel our enjoyment and stay. Very comfortable hotel with great facilities. Room was more than adequate as was the service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Manager /Owner Thomas was a totally difficult person to deal with. He quoted me a daily cost of 46.50 plus tax per room.When I got the bill the room rate was 89.99. I rented five rooms we stayed there for five days to help fight the flood with our equipment. When I got the bill they overcharged me by $750.00. When I called Thomas he was very rude and unreasonable and would not do anything about the overcharge. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't want to get ripped off by an arrogant and very poor manager

Room Tip: go to a real hotel not this rip off
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsinnpierre, General Manager at Kings Inn Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
The guest's step son in law requested one room with one bed and I granted him a discounted rate because I knew the son in law. Upon arrival, the guest requested 4 more rooms with two beds. Each registration card had the rate prominently displayed and was even initialed by the guest. We never agreed to a discounted rate for more than one room as we were almost full. After departure, guest called and threatened to "be my worst advertising" if I didn't reduce the rate for the other rooms. He continued to call the front desk during the day making threats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I was totally awestruck when I checked into our room (King Leisure) during a recent trip to Pierre SD for a Tourism Conference. The room was big, bright, and throughly Clean, we had a ref and micro, iron and ironing board, a seperate walk in closet, love seat, and seperate reclining chair. I usually stay at Holiday Inns or better but do to last minute booking those hotels were not available. The Kings Inn more than made up for the difference, They also had a on-site laundry, and a very extensive hot breakfast each morning. Cari (I believe that was her name) could not have been more pleasant and helpful during our stay. When Pierre The Kings Inn and Conference Center is the place for me.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I stayed at the King's Inn for a business trip. I tossed and turned the first couple of nights because staying in one position too long hurt and the third day I woke up with hip pain. I looked under the stained mattress and there was subflooring board under it! I've had to get massage and chiropractic.
I called the manager to ask for a refund for my discomfort and he refused, saying it's perfectly ok for a hotel to do that to firm up the mattress. Nice customer service!!!! The customer should be told if there is a board first!
The staff was great, except for the manager, but I would have been more comfortable in my car!!!!
Also, the photos on their web-site are misleading to how the rooms really look. Very outdated. I'm not just a disgruntled customer, but others at the business conference agreed it was not a comfortable stay no matter how nice the desk staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pierre
0.6 mi away
River Lodge
River Lodge
#3 of 11 in Pierre
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Pierre
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pierre-Days Inn
Pierre-Days Inn
#2 of 11 in Pierre
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
0.6 mi away
Governor's Inn - Pierre
Governor's Inn - Pierre
#6 of 11 in Pierre
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 110 E. Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Inn Hotel & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED IN 2012! All new furniture, lamps, bedding, bathtubs, bath fixtures and flat screen TV's. Three story, interior room hotel with 2 elevators and 9,000 sq. ft. of meeting/banquet space. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, coffee makers, irons/ironing boards and free high speed Internet access. Complimentary Deluxe continental breakfast offers daily hot items. Located 3 blocks from the Missouri River and 1.5 blocks from the state Capitol. Clean, comfortable and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kings Inn Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Inn Hotel And Conference Center
Kings Inn Hotel Pierre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Inn Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.