We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Pierre
St Bonifacius, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Work Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Room was fine, but with the conference center attached, I would assume it is more of a business hotel. The Desk for working was very small, and had no power for laptop and phone charging. A little bigger desk and bringing the power to top of the desk would make it easier to work. It may seem like a small thing, but I travel a lot, so the hotel room becomes an extension of my office. I had to unplug the lamp to use the electrical socket. SO the desk area was dark.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are replacing the desks with larger ones and desk lamps that have plug-ins built in for extra power at the work station.
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
17
2
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Both my husband and I liked this hotel. It is pet friendly, which we needed. And there was a door in the room that led to a parking lot (under construction) in the back. So we didn't have to go through the halls of the hotel in order to take our dog out for a walk.

The room was clean and comfortable. The location was easy to find. Staff was very friendly. Price was very good value.

Only warning I have is to get settled in early if you want to find something to eat near the hotel. Places close early in Pierre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your response form our staff and management. The construction is complete. We are happy you had a good stay.
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel over the past 9 years on a very regular basis and it is always my first choice when making reservations. With 20+ overnights this year alone, I have been placed in a wide range of rooms and i have always experienced a totally clean and fresh environment. I am made to feel like a valued guest every single time and its because the staff like Tim at the front desk always goes out of their way to deliver great service. Ben in the lounge is very attentive and will give you all the time you need if you have a story. Rory is in charge of the shuttle and has all the information on local attractions and knows how to drive you there and pick you up all on your schedule. I"m high on this place because they prove over and over again that quality service keeps guests coming back.
Bob H Watertown

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded and you may just find yourself in a room with a view of the Missouri River and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your response. We are happy to hear that your stays have been good. Thank you for your business.
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were very surprised by the Best Western in Pierre, South Dakota. We arrived at dusk (the property was very easy to find/large conference center) and checked into a basic but clean room. (The pillows were VERY uncomfortable foam & the bed was firmer than usually found). The restaurant was the big surprise - the food was outstanding! I had the shrimp and my traveling companion had the chicken marsala. Both dishes were professionally plated and were delicious!! Breakfast was very good as well. This center appears to be an older property, but has been maintained well. Other than the bedding issues, it was a good location to stop on the way to the Black Hills.

Room Tip: Ask if they have other choices for pillows - did not have other alternatives in the bureaus, as some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. I will pass your compliments on to the chef and the rest of the staff.
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I travel for work frequently and sometimes stay at 5 star hotels for meetings. Recently, I stayed at the Ramkota in Pierre, SD. While this is not a 5 star hotel, it is a very nice hotel. The rooms are clean, recently remodeled with new beds and flat screen TV's. What sets this hotel apart from the rest is the excellent customer service, especially at the front desk. I have never been greeted more friendly and efficiently than at the Ramkota. The night manager Tim is one of the nicest people you could ever meet. Anyone that travels for work would love this place because they make you feel at home and make everyting easy. When in Pierre, I will stay at the Ramkota always!

Room Tip: If available ask for the rooms on the end of the rounded wings. They are bigger and very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your response. I am glad you had a good stay. I will pass on your compliments on to Tim. Again thank you.
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel previously and enjoyed it so I decided to try it again. I requested a suite this time (very reasonably priced) and it was absolutely lovely. I wouldn't change a thing about the room. It was very quiet, very clean and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your reponse. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you in the future.
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Address: 920 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pierre
Pierre Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.