We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courteous Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Pierre
Selby, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Courteous Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Great place to stay for business or pleasure! The room was comfortable and conveniently located. The whole staff is courteous and friendly from managers to wait staff. The maintenance staff also tried their best to keep the whole group satisfied with the temperature of the conference room....even though we are hard to please. They adjusted the thermostat several times without objection. The meal served to our group was also wonderful. I have attended several conferences at this location and it is amazing to me to observe the longevity of the staff. Most employees have been there for over ten years....and many of them address me personally during my stay. Thanks Kathy! I truly appreciate your attention to customer service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you from the staff and management for your reponse. Our staff and management have been here for an extended time and we appreciate that you chose our property.
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    18
    11
    4
See reviews for
22
19
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011 via mobile

The room seemed ok. Updated TV, room seemed clean.
They have specials to fix your catch/kill as well as outbuildings to clean in and freezers. They will even fix you a sack lunch.
The river runs along property.

Complaints :
Front desk guy was [---]
Musty odor in hall.
A bit pricey for what you get in Pierre SD where you can't even find a decent meal after 9pm.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for your response. We have alot of hunters and fisherman stay with us throughout the year and we try to accomadate them. I apologize for the front desk employee and the musty smell in the hallway. We will work with the front desk to ensure this doesn't happen again. The hallways have been cleaned since then. We had a flood in Pieer throughout the summer and it created alot of humidity in the building. The week after Labor Day we were able to remove our sandbags and then we started the extra clean-up. We shampooed the hallways and deep cleaned the rooms. Again thank you for your response and I apologize for any inconveince.
Rick Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at the Ramkota while in Pierre. They all are the same. For the most part the staff was friendly. The bed was comfortable. As far as the hotel goes, it goes along with my review of the Ramkota in Aberdeen. The rooms are dated, televisions are old, wallpaper needs to be gone, and bathrooms need some work. The Ramkota Hotels are all old- the main face lifts appeared to happen when convetion centers were attached. New Convention Centers connected to an old Hotel. The parking lot needs some work, and the Lobby needs updating. There is no "curb appeal" to the Hotel. We did not use the pool area, but that portion seemed to look nice. I would drive the extra few seconds across the bridge and stay at the Holiday Inn Express which is much newer and provides a good breakfast in the mornings. There is also a new Hotel / Convention Center being constructed across from the Ramkota- that would I look into.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
I want to apologize and thank you for your comments. We are in the process of replacing televisions. The parking lot will be done this spring for sure. We have a ground water problem from the recent flooding along the Missouri River. When we start remodeling rooms we will remove the vinyl and paint our interior. Rick Murray -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Station, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

my wife and i stopped here on our way to Sturgis bike week. The hotel is located on the far end of town ( hwy 14/34 ) which was great for our early morning departure. The reception hostell was excellent and friendly and couldn't have been any nicer to deal with.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and had a great steak dinner with a nice bottle of wine for $60!!
Bikes were protected under the hotel canopy. The rooms were clean, tidy and well maintained. We had breakfast ( not included ) the next morning before heading out and again the service was good and food was very decent.
Would stay here again if I was passing through.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your response. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Rick Murray general manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I don't understand what other reviewers like about this hotel. I came here with a small group on business, and we were all disgusted by how dirty this hotel is. My tub was stopped up, and the hotel manager had to snake out the drain. The carpet smelled like a combination of dirty wet dog and sewage. The sliding window didn't close all the way. The laundry room was right next to my guest room, and there was some sort of water leak that flooded the hallway carpet. Rather than putting up cones or warning guests that the carpet was wet, the hotel did nothing. I walked out of my room in socks to get some ice, and completely drenched my socks in the dirty water. Others in my group had similar negative experiences with their guest rooms. The only nice things I can say are that the staff was very friendly and pleasant, and it has a restaurant onsite. For our next trip, we stayed at the AmericInn 30 seconds away in Ft. Pierre - it's fairly new and very clean - much nicer accommodations, and the price was less than at the Best Western Ramkota.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
I apologize for the condition of the hotel. We will work harder on cleanliness and maintenance of the facility. there is no excuse for this to happen and we will work harder so it does not. Rick Murray- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We spent one night here just passing through the area on a recent road trip. It is located next to the river and across the street from a nice park, which under normal circumstances would be a plus. With recent flooding, however, both the park and river were inaccessible. The hotel itself had not been impacted by flooding, other than having some of its parking area blocked off. It was perfectly fine, including our breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your response. The parks will be open this summer. The city and our hotel will be repairing damages from the after affects from the flood. Rick Murray general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011 via mobile

Loved the room when we arrived and front desk staff very friendly. We came mainly for the kiddie pool and because family said this was the best hotel to stay at in Pierre. That said we were very disappointed to come home on night s 2 and 3 to find room exactly as we had left it with bed unmade, bath room messy with wet towels and washcloth in shower hanging and floors not vacuumed. (the first morning we just asked for clean towels as we were still showering when maid came). They offer no free breakfast so no I don't feel it's a good value. It was also very damp in room with sheets damp also possibly due to the unfortunate flooding in area. It appeared that someone had been there as we had an express check out receipt on sink counter but room was not kept up.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for you response concerning your stay with us. I apologize for the neglect of our housekeeping department. We have had classes working with the housekeeping staff to ensure this doesn't happen. The humidity problem will not happen this year with the dry conditions. Rick Murray general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Address: 920 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pierre
Pierre Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.