We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect spot!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Pierre
Oro Station, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“perfect spot!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

my wife and i stopped here on our way to Sturgis bike week. The hotel is located on the far end of town ( hwy 14/34 ) which was great for our early morning departure. The reception hostell was excellent and friendly and couldn't have been any nicer to deal with.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and had a great steak dinner with a nice bottle of wine for $60!!
Bikes were protected under the hotel canopy. The rooms were clean, tidy and well maintained. We had breakfast ( not included ) the next morning before heading out and again the service was good and food was very decent.
Would stay here again if I was passing through.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your response. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Rick Murray general manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    18
    11
    4
See reviews for
22
19
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pierre, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I don't understand what other reviewers like about this hotel. I came here with a small group on business, and we were all disgusted by how dirty this hotel is. My tub was stopped up, and the hotel manager had to snake out the drain. The carpet smelled like a combination of dirty wet dog and sewage. The sliding window didn't close all the way. The laundry room was right next to my guest room, and there was some sort of water leak that flooded the hallway carpet. Rather than putting up cones or warning guests that the carpet was wet, the hotel did nothing. I walked out of my room in socks to get some ice, and completely drenched my socks in the dirty water. Others in my group had similar negative experiences with their guest rooms. The only nice things I can say are that the staff was very friendly and pleasant, and it has a restaurant onsite. For our next trip, we stayed at the AmericInn 30 seconds away in Ft. Pierre - it's fairly new and very clean - much nicer accommodations, and the price was less than at the Best Western Ramkota.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
I apologize for the condition of the hotel. We will work harder on cleanliness and maintenance of the facility. there is no excuse for this to happen and we will work harder so it does not. Rick Murray- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We spent one night here just passing through the area on a recent road trip. It is located next to the river and across the street from a nice park, which under normal circumstances would be a plus. With recent flooding, however, both the park and river were inaccessible. The hotel itself had not been impacted by flooding, other than having some of its parking area blocked off. It was perfectly fine, including our breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your response. The parks will be open this summer. The city and our hotel will be repairing damages from the after affects from the flood. Rick Murray general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011 via mobile

Loved the room when we arrived and front desk staff very friendly. We came mainly for the kiddie pool and because family said this was the best hotel to stay at in Pierre. That said we were very disappointed to come home on night s 2 and 3 to find room exactly as we had left it with bed unmade, bath room messy with wet towels and washcloth in shower hanging and floors not vacuumed. (the first morning we just asked for clean towels as we were still showering when maid came). They offer no free breakfast so no I don't feel it's a good value. It was also very damp in room with sheets damp also possibly due to the unfortunate flooding in area. It appeared that someone had been there as we had an express check out receipt on sink counter but room was not kept up.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for you response concerning your stay with us. I apologize for the neglect of our housekeeping department. We have had classes working with the housekeeping staff to ensure this doesn't happen. The humidity problem will not happen this year with the dry conditions. Rick Murray general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
645 reviews 645 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Clean; helpful front desk; fast airport transfers; restaurant ok for breakfast
but beware transfers to restaurants; we were left waiting for pickup for 65 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your reveiw. I apaologize for the wait for our van. We have made changes with our communications with the van driver so this doesn't happen again. Rick Murray general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Knox, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

On a recent trip across the country with my mom and sister, this was our second Best Western stay of the trip. I honestly had no idea they could be so nice. Being from the South, all the ones I've stayed in before (not many) have been subpar, including the one the previous night in Missouri. Not this Best Western!

My first impression was that the location was nice. It's sort of on its own, not on a busy street. Also, we were travelling with a dog, and there were plenty of grassy areas to walk him. When we got into the room, I was so pleased! The temperature was cool, the room was clean, the bathroom was nice, and the room had a back door that led straight out to the indoor pool.

I didn't have much interaction with the staff, because we didn't need anything during our one-night stay, though we did order pizza for dinner, and the delivery guy knew exactly where we were. Apparently, this was very common. We had a great stay here, and if I'm ever passing through this part of the country again, I'll choose this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your response. WE are happy your stay was a positive one. Rick Murray general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

I saw the AAA two-diamond rating for this hotel and had to think real hard before booking. I fail to see why it is not a three-diamond hotel as it is of the caliber of others rated as such. It is attached to a conference center and has lots of space. We were upgraded to a suite that had a jacuzzi. A thing we really liked was that the AC was behind an armoire with a TVand kept the room cool without blowing on us while sleeping-a real plus for sure. Check in and out were smooth and the room was large and clean. It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Address: 920 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pierre
Pierre Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.