We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No box for rating less than one star.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Capitol Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Inn & Suites
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   815 East Wells Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 hotels in Pierre
Buffalo Gap
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No box for rating less than one star.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Arrived at the inn and it took 30 minutes to check in with one person ahead of us. The room cost was double what was quoted to us 8 weeks prior. The attitude was so what we know there are three state sporting events in town this weekend so you are out of luck.
We got out "suite" OMG! The only thing it had going for it was plenty of hot water, which the shower seemed to have two temps, boiled lobster or straight out of the Missouri. The pillows were about 2 inches thick and shoved into the pillow shams with no pillow cases. The sheets were so thin you could see through them. There was an empty pop bottle peaking out from under one of the beds and the other bedroom had a lighter and a left over tool. One bathroom sink you couldn't close the drain and the other you couldn't keep open.
We complained the manager went and purchased pillows and low and behold the second night we got pillow cases. They did get the two beer bottle caps from the top of the fridge left by prior tenants but that was the extent. I left a small pile of threads on the floor by the couch, still there after the room was "cleaned." I guess they join the dusty bunny factory under the couch.
I reserved this room with some trepidation, I am sorry to say that my fears were realized. Oh and when I said I wanted the difference back for the over charge I was told that only a manager could do that. Evidently the only time there is a manager around is when they take your money or you have to get pillows purchased.

I would not only no ever recommend this motel, I would caution anyone on wasting their money. The photos are WAY better than the actually motel. The photos do not show broken cement steps to the second floor where we stayed, holes in the walls clumsily patched with plaster and never repainted over, curtains not quite long enough for the windows so at any given time someone could see in, or the dirty windows, the list goes on.

Don't stay there. Appalling!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    2
    1
    12
See reviews for
8
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here with a group of five people, occupying three rooms for five days. Our group was out on a pheasant hunting trip. During our stay, one room was cleaned every day, while the other two rooms were only cleaned once. The shower was filthy and not something that you'd expect to pay money to use. I understand that these rooms are inexpensive, and allow pets, but I thought there would be a bit more effort put into their upkeep. Also, a member of our group had half of his prescription pills stolen. They were left out in plain sight, which was perhaps a mistake, but they should not have been taken. Management was spoken to about this, and knew which two housekeepers had gone in the room that day. It surprised me that housekeepers had even been in there. I have no idea what they did in there other than steal some pills, the beds still weren't made and the floor had not been vacuumed. We were assured that they would question their employees to try to find out who took the pills. When we tried to follow up on who the thief was, we were informed that neither housekeeper admitted to taking the pills so there was nothing they could do about it. If someone steals your property while you stay here, the management will not cooperate in getting your possessions back or in trying to find out who is responsible for the theft. Finally, a plate of hot garbage would probably be better than the slop they call biscuits and gravy. Stay away from the complimentary breakfast. All you'll get is the complimentary runs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

sheets torn, shower had soap scum up and down toilet was dirty beds were as hard as the ground stinky pillows stains on walls shower head was bad shot all over the place but on you took 45 min to check in the nicest thing in the room is the 32 inch flat screen curtains falling off room service came in late to give towels because they forgot to put them in the bathroom mold in bathroom on caulking family members sick asked to refund so we could get home sooner they said no pet friendly hotel but if your animal pisses or poops on a tree or bush 100 dollar fine you have to be a midget to stand under the shower head im 5'11" and have to duck under the shower head

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The room itself was OK, if basic, but decently equipped for a quick overnight stop, and the free wifi worked fine for us. We had a couple of problems, though, that meant that even though we arrived at 11pm, we weren't checked in until 1am (with 2 kids!).
To be fair, the source of the first problem was Expedia, which hadn't faxed our reservation to the hotel, so they had no idea that we were arriving, or that we'd already paid for the room. The hotel said they couldn't phone Expedia (no long-distance service?!) so we had to call on our cell phone and do the explaining. Half an hour later they sent the fax and we were given a room key.
When we went to the room, the key didn't work. After trying without success for 5 minutes, the lights in the room went on -- turned out we'd been told the wrong room.
As soon as we finally got into the right room, the phone rang. It was the front desk saying that they couldn't get Expedia's payment system to work -- not our problem, but since they couldn't call Expedia (!?) they said we had to pay again with our credit card or they'd kick us out the room. We tried calling Expedia again, spent half an hour on hold before the front desk person said her shift was over and we had to either pay again or leave -- she said she couldn't let the night clerk take over, it had to be dealt with there and then.
Desperate for sleep we paid a second time. Luckily Expedia reimbursed us (and gave us a voucher), but the hotel manager was unapologetic next morning.
We've never had service like this at a hotel before.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The Capitol Inn is one of the most basic hotels I have stayed in. For hunters or travelers only looking for a place to lay your head for the 8-9 hours, it is O.K. My bed was very very comfortable, it was quiet and I slept well. The staff was friendly and it was close to the Capital building.
Cons- The rooms are super small. There was walking room around the bed and that literally was about it.. small walking space to the bath.. The bathroom was stuck in time sometime about 40 years ago, with a stand up shower, basic sink attached to the wall. THe shower had decent pressure and it was clean. No blow dryer. You can ask for one at the front desk. There was a chair "under" the coat/clothing rack (there was no room for it anywhere else). It was too dirty to set anything else on. The bed and sheets were fresh and clean and I did check it out thoroughly.
Other review claims poor wi=fi... this is correct. If you need wi=fi service because you are a business traveler and you rely on it, this is not the place for you. Service is continually disconnected.. and I mean every 5 minutes.
Breakfast was also very basic. Gravy and biscuits, rolls, frozen waffles available to toast. Toast and coffee.
Business center available and work out area is a treadmill in the business "center'.. again, pretty basic.
This is not a "Vacation spot" for famlies.. rooms are too small.

Room Tip: all outdoor entrances
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We were on our way to Rapid City and stopped in Pierre around midnight for a quick overnight rest before hitting the road again early morning. This motel was just what we were looking for, with the pleasant surprise of a small hot breakfast even! Very reasonable rates, no frills except for the outdoor pool, but clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed here because of the advertised Wi-Fi internet access. Yeah right, its a joke. You will spend more time searching for a signal than surfing the internet and once you're connected good luck, it’s extremely slow and unreliable. You will get disconnected several times an hour while the network is "identifying". Told management about this and they said it was my computer. Spoke with several other guests and they report the same problem and were also told it was their computer not the network. I also contacted a local computer/network shop and they told me they have been getting complaints about the Capitol Inn's Internet network since it was installed but management will not spend the money to improve the network. Don’t stay here if the free Wi-Fi is a reason that attracted you.

Also dealt with "dirty" linens that were placed in my room night after night with dirt and stains on them. Come on, if a "white" towel can no longer be cleaned and be "white" after laundry then quit placing it in guests rooms!!

Also if you plan on getting a full nights rest think again. In the three weeks that I stayed here the local police were here dealing with drunks, fights, and domestics FIVE times. That’s right FIVE times in three weeks!! Several nights a week I was woken anytime between midnight and 4 am by intoxicated people, fights, or a domestic disturbance.

There are other places in Pierre that will give you better, cleaner service for around the same price range!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Inn & Suites

Address: 815 East Wells Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 hotels in Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capitol Inn & Suites 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Capitol Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.