We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Sleeping Room, Comfortable, but old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Capitol Inn & Suites
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   815 East Wells Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Pierre
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Basic Sleeping Room, Comfortable, but old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The Capitol Inn is one of the most basic hotels I have stayed in. For hunters or travelers only looking for a place to lay your head for the 8-9 hours, it is O.K. My bed was very very comfortable, it was quiet and I slept well. The staff was friendly and it was close to the Capital building.
Cons- The rooms are super small. There was walking room around the bed and that literally was about it.. small walking space to the bath.. The bathroom was stuck in time sometime about 40 years ago, with a stand up shower, basic sink attached to the wall. THe shower had decent pressure and it was clean. No blow dryer. You can ask for one at the front desk. There was a chair "under" the coat/clothing rack (there was no room for it anywhere else). It was too dirty to set anything else on. The bed and sheets were fresh and clean and I did check it out thoroughly.
Other review claims poor wi=fi... this is correct. If you need wi=fi service because you are a business traveler and you rely on it, this is not the place for you. Service is continually disconnected.. and I mean every 5 minutes.
Breakfast was also very basic. Gravy and biscuits, rolls, frozen waffles available to toast. Toast and coffee.
Business center available and work out area is a treadmill in the business "center'.. again, pretty basic.
This is not a "Vacation spot" for famlies.. rooms are too small.

Room Tip: all outdoor entrances
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    3
    1
    15
See reviews for
8
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We were on our way to Rapid City and stopped in Pierre around midnight for a quick overnight rest before hitting the road again early morning. This motel was just what we were looking for, with the pleasant surprise of a small hot breakfast even! Very reasonable rates, no frills except for the outdoor pool, but clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed here because of the advertised Wi-Fi internet access. Yeah right, its a joke. You will spend more time searching for a signal than surfing the internet and once you're connected good luck, it’s extremely slow and unreliable. You will get disconnected several times an hour while the network is "identifying". Told management about this and they said it was my computer. Spoke with several other guests and they report the same problem and were also told it was their computer not the network. I also contacted a local computer/network shop and they told me they have been getting complaints about the Capitol Inn's Internet network since it was installed but management will not spend the money to improve the network. Don’t stay here if the free Wi-Fi is a reason that attracted you.

Also dealt with "dirty" linens that were placed in my room night after night with dirt and stains on them. Come on, if a "white" towel can no longer be cleaned and be "white" after laundry then quit placing it in guests rooms!!

Also if you plan on getting a full nights rest think again. In the three weeks that I stayed here the local police were here dealing with drunks, fights, and domestics FIVE times. That’s right FIVE times in three weeks!! Several nights a week I was woken anytime between midnight and 4 am by intoxicated people, fights, or a domestic disturbance.

There are other places in Pierre that will give you better, cleaner service for around the same price range!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We wanted to leave the second we entered the room. They moved us to another room that smelt a little less horrible! Then when we requrested to cancel the next two days - all of a sudden there was a 7 day advance cancellation policy...never found that posted on reservation or in lobby! They almost laughed at the fact we had to pay the extra nights - and found a hotel elsewhere . It was so horrible to pay and not stay there- but for the cleanliness & safety of family we felt we had to go somewhere else! The owner "Ron" is a sleeze! DONT STAY HERE! I never have written a bad review - even on questionable motels/hotels... but this one... had to warn you!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Inn & Suites

Address: 815 East Wells Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Pierre
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capitol Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Capitol Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.