We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Know How to Make Steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cattleman's Club Steakhouse

Cattleman's Club Steakhouse
29608 SD Hwy 34, Pierre, SD 57501
+1 605-224-9774
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Pierre
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $37
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are located 5 miles east of Pierre on Highway 34 overlooking beautiful Lake Sharpe. Great food in a casual atmosphere (we have sawdust on the floor). You might have to wait, but it's worth it!!
South Dakota
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“They Know How to Make Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fabulous, tender, perfectly cooked steaks. The sawdust on the floor adds character to the place. The view of the Missouri is wonderful. We were told 20 minutes for a table, but it was more like eight minutes. My only complaint would be lack of a kids' menu. We had to order everything a la carte for them from either the appetizer or entree section and the portions were not appropriate for younger children.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    33
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pierre, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Valentine's Porterhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My date and I ordered the Valentine's Day Special. It was a big Porterhouse steak grilled to Medium with breaded shrimp and green beans. Great flavor and service. As we were eating, the crowd continued to grow. Beautiful setting over-looking the river.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you're in the mood for a great steak or prime rib, you must make it a point to eat at the Cattleman's Club a little east of Pierre along the Missouri River. Rustic decor with sawdust on the floor. In the summer you can sit out on the deck which looks over the Missouri River. It is a must stop while in the Pierre, SD area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

On a trip to Pierre, we asked where the best place to get a steak was. Everyone told us that the Cattleman's Club was the best steakhouse in South Dakota. I would imagine that this place is better than the best steakhouses in a lot of states, not just South Dakota. Food, service, and drinks were excellent, and a great price, especially the high quality. If anyone is looking for a great meal in Pierre, i would highly recommend eating here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“average food, good marketing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The food is good, nothing special but not bad either, as the title says average. You must sit in the bar for at least an hour wether there are tables open or not, as the title says good marketing. A little over priced for what they are serving.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattleman's Club Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Cattleman's Club Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattleman's Club Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.