We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Mary's Steakhouse & Saloon

Mad Mary's Steakhouse & Saloon
110 E Dakota Ave, Pierre, SD 57501-3110
605-224-6469
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 32 Restaurants in Pierre
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The outside of this restaurant isn't much but you'll be glad to decided to give it a try. A locals favorite. Everybody seemed to know everybody. Filets were cooked perfectly. The tin potatoes are awesome. Some of the best potatoes I've ever eaten.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Neat Little Place to Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was a quaint setting with good food. the prices were pretty good. We had the Prime Rib Sandwich with an excellent cup of French Onion Soup. Very tasty. The Amaretto Strawberry Daiquiri was pretty awesome too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wish the food was as good as the Story”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for supper on the way through. Loved the Mad Mary back story, the food was good, not great. Our table was dark and it was very warm where we were sitting, so atmosphere got downgraded for us. Still, we were glad we checked it out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a better choice than cattlemans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have had great prime rib better then the over rated cattlemans. great crab legs, friendly staff. I come in alone while in town and sit at the bar to ea. the bartender is always cheerful and willing to chat. dinner and a conversation is always better then being ignored.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great Rib-Eye, Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I were passing through Pierre, SD. The people at the B&B where we were staying recommended Mad Mary's to us. We went and are so glad we did. First: The rib-eye steaks we had were some of the best ever and they cooked them to our exacting standards. The "Tin-Taters" were great with the meal also. Second: The place lookes like an old western bar with tables and booths. Mad Mary - herself - is behind the bar. She is younger than the name implies, but she owns the place - long story - ask her sometime. She is a major part of the atmosphere. Third: The service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Mary's Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Mad Mary's Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Mary's Steakhouse & Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.