We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Roadside Mexican” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant
314 W Sioux Ave, Pierre, SD 57501
605-224-2771
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 32 Restaurants in Pierre
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Brandon, Canada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Decent Roadside Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Do not expect anything special here. Home-style cooking, large portions, fast service, and a building in need of repair. You could do much worse thought.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    10
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pierre, SD
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Best place in town for Mexican or Tex-Mex meals. Their quality and quantity of food has been consistent, their prices are reasonable, although not fancy the restaurant is clean and the service is good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Food, service was lousy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have been going there for years. In the past, the food has not been that good. Now it is the complete opposite. Food was good, fresh, large portions. The service was lousy. Felt like we were a hindrance to the waitperson. Maybe she was having an off day, but it will be a while before we go back because of it. Front of the store is boarded up, not sure why, but they should fix it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

First I have to give the restaurant staff high marks, and the servings were huge and prices quite reasonable, but the food was a disappointment. Having lived along the Texas-Mexico border and frequently visited Mexico, I found the food bland and almost tasteless. The "salsa" appeared to be a few chopped up vegetables in V-8. If you do not like spicy food (find Taco Belle spicy), you might enjoy this version of Mexican food. I prefer a lot more flavor.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, Decent Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have visited this location a few times. The food is more Mexican than the Taco Johns or Taco Bell in town. I will say that I don't know a lot about Mexican food, but I feel safe in venturing the guess that this isn't really true Mexican cuisine either.

I have yet to find a nice spicy/hot dish here. Last time I ordered the only thing on the menu labeled "SPICY" in red letters. It was far from anything I would call spicy... So if that is what you are looking for either avoid this place or be prepared to empty the 'hot sauce' bottle on the table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.