We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's Inn - Pierre

Save Saved
You added Governor's Inn - Pierre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Governor's Inn - Pierre
700 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501-1859   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Pierre
Watertown, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good stay and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice improvements being made recently to the lobby and check-in areas. New flat screen TVs in the rooms. They've got a nice sized meeting room if you're looking for a place for your group to meet. Good breakfast and friendly staff.

Room Tip: A few rooms on the main floor have newer carpet. Quieter if you aren't on the side next to McDo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thanks Rosie it's always good to see you when you're in Pierre. You mentioned some of the improvements we have been working on, like new TV's, we also just replaced 23 queen size beds, installed a new lift in the pool area for guest with disablities, This is are biggest challange is getting it out to people that we have all the amenities of a brand hotel.

Thanks
John Poncelet
GM/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
12
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

the rooms were clean, and the amenities were similar to the chain hotels. good breakfast in the morning and hot soup in the evening. Everyone wanted to make sure you were having a good stay. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 due to problems with the internet. my wireless didn't work any of the 3 days, but they do have hard wire conections. the first day i was kicked off the internet with the hard wire conection, i reported it and they fixed the problem for the next two days. All in all a good hotel and a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for your review and thanks for noticing that as an independent we do try to provide all the amenities of the brand hotels. We spent a lot of time last year doing new flat screens tv's, new countertops in the breakfast room, new security camera's around the building, added 26 new queen beds this winter and will be upgrading our business center in a few weeks.

Thanks again
John Poncelet
Gm/ Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Clean and pretty quite, this less then brand new hotel is just fine. Our room was a good temp. the traffic was not to loud, and we had plenty of space to spread out.
Going running across the way to the Island was a perfect escape from the Tourism Conferance I was just at.

Room Tip: We slept in 234 it was upstairs and away from stairs and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on the Governor's Inn. We take great pride as an independent hotel to be able to provide the same amenities as the brand hotels.
And the island you mentioned is a great place for a run you should try it in the fall.
Thanks
John Poncelet
Gm/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

After reading all of the reviews of this Inn, I have to say I was disappointed with my stay. The hallways were a little messy with piles of old TV's and old air conditioning units stacked in some areas. The second floor ice maker was out of order. The room itself was dank and the beds were not very comfortable. The metal strip over the carpet under the bathroom door was only partially nailed down, and it was a real danger to bare feet. The only soap was from a dispenser over the sink, and it was empty. Saw bars of soap on the maid's cart, but we didn't get any. Breakfast was quite simple. My kids did like the fresh cookies when we checked in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I apologize for the condition of things we had just changed over to new flat screen tv's and had some laying around that had been sold and not picked up.
The ac I should have found a better place to put them, it has been so hot we left them in an easy place to get to.
I have talked to housekeeping on the other items and we will get them taken care of.
I am sorry about things we try very hard to keep things perfect every day and sometimes it gets the better of us.
Thanks for letting us know what you see and what you think about things.
I hope to see you again

John Poncelet
Owner/ Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed a very pleasant stay at Gov's Inn in mid-June 2012. Clean, quiet, swim pool, nice brealfast, exercise room, great location, great staff. I will definately stay again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I always show these to the staff so they know the efforts they do really do make a difference.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton, SD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just returned from Pierre, SD where we enjoyed a great three day stay at the Governor's Inn. Clean, friendly, and reasonably priced. Great breakfast. Spent a night at a much larger hotel on the way home and their breakfast was pale compared to what the Governor's Inn puts out! Location was so convenient and everybody was great...the kids loved it. Five stars: We'll never stay anywhere else in Pierre!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Wonderful if your not on the main hallway. Clean, friendly staff, comfortable beds, pet friendly, close to many types of food. Nice parking. No elevator

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the rooms on the main hallway. It is very noisy. We were in room 102. It is right by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Manager at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Thank you for letting me know about this issue. I have reminded my desk clerk not to clean up in these rooms when someone is next door. they should have waited sorry about this issue and thank you for bring this to my attention.
John Poncelet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Governor's Inn - Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Pierre

Address: 700 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501-1859
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's Inn is located in Pierre, the state capital of South Dakota. We provide a Family friendly environment, and Complimentary Deluxe Breakfast featuring Belgium Waffles, Biscuits & Gravy, Muffins, Bagels, yogurt, other varieties of food items, Fresh Coffee & other refreshments. All Rooms have Wi-Fi & hard wired internet, mini-frig & microwaves,32 inch flat screen TV's, coffee,hair dryer, iron,& voicemail. Other amenities include an outdoor grill, Large Heated In-Door Pool w/accessible lift,Hot Tub, exercise room, guest laundry, & patio area. Meeting spaces available to host family reunions, banquets, and parties. We are continually making improvements, recently updated in January 2014 keeping up with guests accommodations. Improvements include new carpets, wall colors, and beds on first floor. We have King or 2-Queen bed rooms, suites, whirl pool suites, a family suite, handicap accessible rooms with walk in showers, & adjoining rooms. There are several drive up accessible rooms with plug-ins for boats, as well as larger parking for boats & trailers. We are located on Hwys 34-83-14 close to several local restaurants & chain food places. We are one block from the Missouri river, Lewis & Clark Trail, 52 miles of walking & biking trails, boat access areas & Pierre's convention center. You will find some of the best Walleye Fishing, Canadian Geese & South Dakota Pheasant Hunting in the world right here! During the summer we also provide bikes for rent. Attractions: State Capital, Fighting Stallions, War Memorial,SD Discovery Center,Cultural Heritage Center, Casey Tibbs Rodeo Center,Buffalo Interpretive Center,Farm Island Recreational Park,national Guard museum,& 3rd largest earth rolled famous 'Oahe Dam'. At check-in Guest will receive a Benefit Card with savings on local restaurants & businesses. 24 Hour Customer Service & A Great Hospitality Greeting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Inn - Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Pierre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's Inn - Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.