We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, but not luxurious” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's Inn - Pierre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Governor's Inn - Pierre to your Saves list
Governor's Inn - Pierre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501-1859   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Pierre
Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great value, but not luxurious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed at the Governor's Inn for about a month in the spring of 2011. The pros: It was the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in in my life. I never even heard the train, which you hear everywhere in Pierre, and never heard other people in the hotel either. The staff was quite friendly and the room was very large for the price, including a jetted tub in the room. The internet was high-speed and very reliable. Breakfast had several choices. The cons: It is a bit run-down. The bed and other furniture were not very comfortable. My window broke several times and as a woman staying alone I was a little disconcerted that there was no chain or bar on the door. The manager did add one when I asked, however, it was barely connected to the wall. All in all, if you're looking for a good value and a quiet night's sleep in Pierre, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: There are several suites to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Manager at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
I want to thank you for leaving a nice review and i know it was some time between staying and writing the review. One thing i noticed is the door security we do have dead bolts on every room and security key cards for all doors and peep holes in the doors and have had them for a number of years.
We have been doing upgrades every year and over the past year we replaced some beds and furniture in the rooms. Added concrete in the parking lot this past year, the wet spring was hard on the parking lot. New cabinets in the breakfast room and painted several sleeping rooms. Also added a outside deck area by the front entrance.

Thank you and hope to see you again.
jp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
13
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The governors inn is with out a doubt the best place in town to stay friendly staff great management, good nights rest, good breakfast, and work or play its just a great place to say! great time here spent 6 mo. of my life here and would not choose anywhere else other than home thank you governors inn!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thanks Kellen it was good having you around all fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have stayed here before and loved it, but after this last trip we will never be back! The room was so dirty that a half hour after being there my son's knees were very dirty from him crawling on the floor in our room. There was tape that covered the threshold going into the bathroom. Under the dresser was very dirty and hadn't been vacuumed! The hot tub had a lot of sand in it! The staff just made excuses and didn't care when we brought it to their attention. The entire pool area was dirty and didn't look like it had been cleaned in a long time! Even the ceiling in the pool room was damaged. Instead of them fixing it properly they just painted a couple of 2x4's and nailed them up to try to hold the ceiling up. We also had a lot of problems with our room keys and the key reader for the outside door. We had to walk around the building at night with 3 small children just to get back into the building. We were only given a credit of $10. They did not have enough food for the entire time for breakfast! Obviously they do not appreciate our business and like I said previously, we will not ever stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Manager at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for the comments. We were aware of the sand in the hot tub it was from a broken pipe inside the sand filter we choose to wait till after the weekend was over to fix it as it would need to be shut down for 2 days and we did not feel it was hurting anything. The pool ceiling needs some work from the frost this past winter and is scheduled to be fixed in Nov. Yes the key machine on that outside door had troubles that weekend we cleaned it and it has been working fine. As far as breakfast goes i know she had some busy times and fell behind but we never ran out of food. I am sorry about these issues and will bring them up at the next staff meeting. You have stayed here before and things were good i hope you will give us another chance. Sorry and thank you for the comments
jp
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I wasn't to sure what to expect with the star rating and price; however, the room was very spacious and very clean. My kids enjoyed the pool and it wad very quiet. Will stay here next time I am in Pierre.

Room Tip: AAA discount. First thing I look for at any motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

All the right stuff for the right price. Good staff, well maintained and clean. Small exercise room with two treadmills. Good breakfast. Indoor pool, (standard in the Dakotas). Walk to downtown, which had a hard time with flooding this year. Not a resort but a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Owner at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
I want to thank them for those good comments. Our staff takes great care and time in making things look good. I'm glad you noticed.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Plains
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

There aren't a lot of frills in this place, but it is clean, the rooms are large and ours was quiet, the staff is friendly, and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Manager at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
I want to thank them for these nice comments, we are not fancy but we try to have everything a travler would need. My housekeeping staff takes great care in cleaning all though we are not always perfect we keep trying.
Everyone spends time with the training provided by the Pierre Chamber and South Dakota Tourism for great customer service.

Thank You for your comments
John Poncelet
GM/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed in the Governors Inn for several days. Initially our room seemed ok except there was a barking dog two doors down. We went to the front desk the dog’s owner was in the lobby and went up to take care of the dog.. We did not have any barking problems after that. On the second day the room started to have a smell in it. At first I thought it was the air conditioner because they can get musty at times. The second day it was getting more noticeable and got to the point where I realized that it smelled like pet urine. Then I noticed scratches on the door that looked like a dog had been trying to get out. We notified the front desk and the cleaning staff came up and said that the motel was full and they would do what they could with the carpet and bedding. When we came back that evening you could tell that they had done what they could in a limited amount of time. By the next day the smell had overcome the carpet cleaner and other stuff. We went to the front desk and they were able to assign us a different room which was much better. I noticed that they advertise that they are “dog friendly” on their web site. Many motels will not allow dogs in nonsmoking rooms and this motel is mostly nonsmoking rooms. In fact they have a very well posted $300 cleaning fee for smoking in a nonsmoking room. They apparently do not have a strong policy on pets and do allow them in many of the rooms. The staff was very accommodating but if you have an allergy to pet dander or aversion to the smell of pet urine, you could have a problem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERREGOVINN, Manager at Governor's Inn - Pierre, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
I know this is late I am trying to do a better job of replying to all comments and will begin with all of last years comments.

As this couple mentioned we talked with the dog owner and there was no more barking. As far as the pet smell we shampooed and cleaned it up, I am not sure what bought out the smell like she said it was not there in the beginning.
Are current pet fee is a one time $10.00 fee and we ask that they do not leave pets alone in the room. We strip the room down and do some extra cleaning after a pet is in the room.

We have gone to all non-smoking and still have a lot of pets visit us. So many travlers take their pets with them it would be very unproductive to band pets all together. After all we like pets too.

We just want to make sure they don't leave them alone. I want to thank this couple for writing and it has helped us to work harder to enforce our pet policy.
John Poncelet
GM/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor's Inn - Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Pierre

Address: 700 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501-1859
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor's Inn - Pierre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's Inn is located in Pierre, the state capital of South Dakota. We provide a Family friendly environment, and Complimentary Deluxe Breakfast featuring Belgium Waffles, Biscuits & Gravy, Muffins, Bagels, yogurt, other varieties of food items, Fresh Coffee & other refreshments. All Rooms have Wi-Fi & hard wired internet, mini-frig & microwaves,32 inch flat screen TV's, coffee,hair dryer, iron,& voicemail. Other amenities include an outdoor grill, Large Heated In-Door Pool w/accessible lift,Hot Tub, exercise room, guest laundry, & patio area. Meeting spaces available to host family reunions, banquets, and parties. We are continually making improvements, recently updated in January 2014 keeping up with guests accommodations. Improvements include new carpets, wall colors, and beds on first floor. We have King or 2-Queen bed rooms, suites, whirl pool suites, a family suite, handicap accessible rooms with walk in showers, & adjoining rooms. There are several drive up accessible rooms with plug-ins for boats, as well as larger parking for boats & trailers. We are located on Hwys 34-83-14 close to several local restaurants & chain food places. We are one block from the Missouri river, Lewis & Clark Trail, 52 miles of walking & biking trails, boat access areas & Pierre's convention center. You will find some of the best Walleye Fishing, Canadian Geese & South Dakota Pheasant Hunting in the world right here! During the summer we also provide bikes for rent. Attractions: State Capital, Fighting Stallions, War Memorial,SD Discovery Center,Cultural Heritage Center, Casey Tibbs Rodeo Center,Buffalo Interpretive Center,Farm Island Recreational Park,national Guard museum,& 3rd largest earth rolled famous 'Oahe Dam'. At check-in Guest will receive a Benefit Card with savings on local restaurants & businesses. 24 Hour Customer Service & A Great Hospitality Greeting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Governor's Inn - Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Pierre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's Inn - Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.