We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place to stay..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Randall Hotel & Casino

Fort Randall Hotel & Casino
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pickstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort Randall Hotel & Casino
3 Miles East of Randall Dam, PO Box 229, Pickstown, SD 57367   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pickstown
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Only place to stay..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The staff in the restaraunt, bar, and casino as well as the store and security were very friendly and professional. On of the staff even ran across the street for me with no question or hesitation. Awesome! The front desk staff were 50/50! Some were nice and friendly while others were more interested in watching the TV. I stay there a lot with 5 other people for at least five days at a time. They never offer any up grades not even when asked. Thier supervisor will not return a phone call. They dont even give out complementary casino cards???? WH@! Rooms were ok, clean and neat.

Room Tip: ask for third floor room, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
6
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spencer
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We have stayed here before but I have never given a rating. We stayed here for 3 nights recently and enjoyed it. Everyone from the front desk, housekeeping, restaraunt and casino staff were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are very clean, the food was good and you can order an alcoholic drink in the dining room (another review said you couldn't). There is another motel about 1 mile a way that is fairly decent and is priced about the same but it does not have dining or the casino. If you have children this might not be the place to stay if you want entertainment for them because there isn't a pool or anything but within the next few years I think there will be

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I have stayed there several times, only because there is nothing close. The rooms are just OK, nothing great, but usually clean. I inevitably have a time with the front desk. They are all rude, seem to think you are wasting their TV time, by checking in, and usually foul up what you ask for in a room. I have long ago decided, they find this humorous. If there was somewhere close, that didn't want over $100.00 for a really nasty room, I would never stay there. Everyone else at the place seems friendly, from restaurant, to bar, to cashiers. Oh by the way, no sense in contacting management, have tried that...to no avail.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I had business in Wagner & Lake Andes. The Fort Randall Casino & Hotel is located right between these two towns, so it was an ideal place to stay. I was alone on this trip, and stayed on a Wednesday night. Currently 1 person/1 room runs $59 per night during the week. I would describe the room as being comparable to a room at a Farfield - nothing too fancy, but nicely appointed, with Native American themed hotel room art. The bathroom was appointed lime that of a Super 8, but it was spotlessly clean. I asked for a non-smoking room

The Casino itself is undergoing an extensive expansion, so there is quite a bit of construction. Those staying during the week received a casino voucher for $10. The casino feathres 3-card poker & blackjack, a poker room, and slot machines. There is a bar and there is a restaurant. Note that these are separate operations, and diners cannot order alcohol in the restaurant.

The restaurant features a dinner buffet and menu items. I ordered a $10 ribeye; the dinner was somewhat pedestrian, but the service was good, and complimentary ice cream was thrown in, which was pleasant.

Overall, I'd say it's a very good value. I'd recommend it for anyone looking for a weekend getaway on-the-cheap, or for business in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We traveled 3 hours to the area. When we went to check in the gal at the front desk told us we did not make a reservation for a suite, even though we had. She continued on saying that she had never made a mistake before and basically told us she was right and we were wrong. She gave us no apology and when we went to the room she had reserved for us, it was a room with two beds; we had reserved a king bed. When we went back to the front desk she proceeded to tell us we did not reserve a king bed. My husband always reserves a king bed. We asked to speak to the manager and heard nothing back for days.

We were better off not staying there; the hotel smells like smoke the minute you walk in, the hotel is run down and is in need of some major rennovations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2005

Our bus tour spent one night at Fort Randall Casino & Hotel, which is near Fort Randall Dam on the Missouri River in South Dakota, just a few miles north of Nebraska. It was a 45 minute trip south of the Interstate but it was worth it! Check in was quick. The rooms were the typical two queen beds but extremely clean, exceeding all of my wife's cleanliness criteria. The small hotel is connected to the casino and was a very short walk. At the Four Directions Restaurant service was a little slow, but you should expect that when 100 guests arrive at the same time. Good variety of food on the very reasonably priced menu, and everyone at our table enjoyed their meals. Casino had bingo, variety of slots, one table going in the live poker room, several blackjack tables, and one three card poker table. Low table limits, friendly dealers, and good conversations made the night go quickly. Soda free for gamblers, and alcohol available at good prices.
A small gift shop for the non-gamblers. A large bar/lounge area was pretty quiet the night we stayed. We enjoyed this slightly out of the way place and hope to visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Travelers also viewed these Pickstown hotels
Dakota Inn 4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
View all 1 hotels in Pickstown, ranked by popularity

Been to Fort Randall Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Randall Hotel & Casino

Address: 3 Miles East of Randall Dam, PO Box 229, Pickstown, SD 57367
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pickstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pickstown
Also Known As:
Fort Randall Hotel And Casino
Fort Randall Hotel Pickstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Randall Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fort Randall Hotel & Casino to your Saves list