We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A scary place to visit...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minuteman Missile National Historic Site

Minuteman Missile National Historic Site
24545 Cottonwood Road, Philip, SD 57567
+1 605-433-5552
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Philip
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cold War was the defining historical event of the last half of the 20th century. It led to fear, panic, and distrust symbolized by a nuclear arms race between the United States and Soviet Union. The Minuteman Missile was an iconic weapon in the American nuclear arsenal. Minuteman Missile National Historic site preserves a Launch Control Facility (D-01) and a missile silo (D-09) associated with the 44th Missile Wing in western South Dakota.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
456 reviews 456 reviews
166 attraction reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
“A scary place to visit...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

when you think about all the nuclear-tipped Minuteman II missiles that used to be launch-ready. Did you know that there are still over 400 Minuteman III's around. The film shown is very informative. The rangers, as always, are excellent.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    44
    13
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
OKAWVILLE
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had read the reviews and did not know if we would be allowed to see because it is on a first come first serve basis. Only 6 per tour because of the size of the elevator. We were the only ones on our tour. Our tour guide was actually a retired office who worked at the site when it was active. Able to answer all of our questions as well as give us lots of stories besides just the tour. Went back to the park headquarters after the tour to see the movie. Wish we had had time to see it before hand. Launch facility is actually a museum now so should be seen with that in mind.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A timely reminder of what the cold war was like ... BUT .....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Following our guidebook and the Parks website we went to the Visitor Centre at exit 131 on i90. They showed an excellent film explaining the cold war context and the role and life of the Minuteman teams. But the only way to access the underground control room and staff facilities is to go on a tour and at noon all the tickets were already sold for the day. So we went to see the Minuteman missile silo at exit 116 on i90 which is self-guided. The next day we again went to the Visitor Centre, about 11.00am and again all tickets for the day were sold. They cannot be bought on the website, only at the Visitor Centre. So get there early, for example, go before doing the Badlands tour or Wall Drug. We never did get to see the most interesting part of the visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Missile Site Worth a stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We took the underground tour as well as visited the Delta 9 launch site just up I-90 from the Launch Control facility. Anyone who remembers the Cold War and all the fear we Americans had at that time about a Nuclear War, will be fascinated by these sites. The Park Rangers do a fine job and only 6 are allowed per tour, so I recommend getting there when they open at 8 A.M. so you can plan your day. We got our tickets for a little later so we could see the missile at the launch site and then came back to the launch control facility.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Minute Man Missile South Dakota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Free, however, you must sign up for the tour at the I-90 exit going towards Badlands Natl Park. Actual cold war nuclear missile site where you go down into the bunker where the controls are housed. See where the missileers,security members performed their tasks. You can also go to the actual missile site and take a phone audio tour. The actual control site is about 20 miles East of Wall Drug off I-90. If your doing the Badlands Natl Park,you'll enjoy the missile site tour.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minuteman Missile National Historic Site also viewed

Badlands National Park, SD
 

Been to Minuteman Missile National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minuteman Missile National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.