We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than adequate!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al's Oasis Inn

Save Saved
You added Al's Oasis Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al's Oasis Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 East Highway 16, Oacoma, SD 57365   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Oacoma
Grand Haven, MI
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“More than adequate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Large clean room, comfortable bed with pleasant staff and an affordable price. The only glitch we ran into was that the wireless was VERY slow and we could not use it to view Netflix on their (very nice HDMI-equipped) TV. Other than that, we were pleased!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveWollmanSr, Regional Manager at Al's Oasis Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We utilize all of our guest feedback as a training tool. I am sorry that the wireless speed was not fast enough to allow you to stream Netflix on our new LCD TV's. We do ration the bandwidth so everyone gets to use the internet. We will look at this practice to weigh the effect to our guest's. I am very glad that your stay was good. If you are ever in the neighborhood please stop and say hi! Thanks again for reviewing our hotel! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
16
19
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at the Oasis Inn on our way from the Grand Rapids area to Missouri. Fantastic place! Great price, and they allowed our dog to stay as well--a huge plus! Rooms are extremely clean (I am picky), and HUGE! The largest of any hotel room we stayed in while on our 4100 mile journey! Right next door is Al's Oasis, a resturant/gift shop, etc. western type of place. There was also a cute little duck pond and playground area just towards the back of the hotel. You cannot go wrong staying here! Oh, and the continental breakfast was pretty nice with a waffle bar, cereal, coffee, juice, milk, etc. Very pleased!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveWollmanSr, Regional Manager at Al's Oasis Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
I want to thank you for taking the time to give the Oasis Inn a review. We are very proud of our property and are very glad you enjoyed your stay! Diane Sharping and her staff work very hard to make sure all of our guest's experiences are positive. Once again thank you for taking the time to submit a review. If your travels bring you back to our area, please stop in and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We checked in and took our luggage to our room. Placed everything where we wanted it for the night when I decided to use the bathroom. The toilet wouldn't flush properly. The water came dangerously close to the top. My husband tried it and same thing. Told the desk clerk who assigned us another room. Packed and unpacked again and went to dinner. An hour after returning the a/c shut off and wouldn't come back on. I told my husband I was not changing rooms for a third time we would just have to deal with it for one night. The bed sheets must have been washed a zillion times they're so thin. The room while worn was clean. The desk clerk was friendly but the employees at the next door Al's Oasis restaurant and grocery store were like zombies. The Oasis Inn is best experienced while viewing it at 80 miles an hour on the interstate. Either stay in Mitchell or Rapid City if your coming, going or staying near the Black Hills.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveWollmanSr, Regional Manager at Al's Oasis Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Oasis Inn. Your feedback is very important to us. I am very sorry that your experience was not a good one. One of the Oasis Inn's cornerstones is to provide a well maintained and clean room. We obviously did not achieve our goal's for you during your stay. For this I am very sorry. I hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oacoma hotels

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

We only stayed one night on our way to the Black Hills, overall our experience was good. The bed was very comfortable the room was spacious and just fine for the night. The sights around the inn were pretty cool including the pond outside our door were we fed the tame ducks. Al's saloon next door is a must see, good food and great ambiance. Had a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

With a beautiful view of the Missouri River this I-90 property is a welcome and very hospitable stopping place as one travels across South Dakota, Very clean, great beds, a respectable free breakfast - although they need more room for it - and reasonable rates. It is part of a large complex that includes a very good restaurant (best hot-beef sandwich we had!) a huge gift shop and a full-size supermarket. Nothing spectacular but dependably acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I was expecting more, after reading the reviews for this hotel. Our room was nice--basic--and clean. The pool area was not real attractive. The hot tub was in a room that led to the pool, overlooking a shower, restroom and had older outdoor furniture next to it. There was brown sand at the bottom of the hot tub on one end--not sure how that got there. There was also some sand on one end of the pool. Cribs and rollaways were stored in the stairwell leading to our room. Breakfast was the usual standard fare most chain hotels have--waffle maker, cereal, bagels/toast and juice. The eating area was very small. We ate at the Oasis restaurant for dinner and it was fair. The waiter had a hard time answering our questions, but maybe he hadn't worked there very long. We only stayed one night, since we were on our way to Mt. Rushmore.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

The Oasis Inn is a nice break from the long drive across South Dakota. The rooms are recently updated, clean and comfortable. Some overlook the Missouri River. Staff is friendly and helpful. The location is within walking distance from Al's Oasis restaurant and shops which is a definite plus. There are also a number of interesting attractions in the area. for those who have time to enjoy them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveWollmanSr, Regional Manager at Al's Oasis Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
We appreciate a seasoned Trip Advisor reviewer taking the time to post a review regarding our hotel. Thank you for your comments, we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al's Oasis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al's Oasis Inn

Address: 1100 East Highway 16, Oacoma, SD 57365
Location: United States > South Dakota > Oacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Oacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Al's Oasis Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Al's Oasis Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Inn Chamberlain Hotel Oacoma
Oasis Hotel Chamberlain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al's Oasis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.