We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The outside is deceiving ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
1221 S Burr St, Mitchell, SD 57301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Muscatine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The outside is deceiving ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

When we pulled up we thought oh no. The outside looks very run down. Once we got inside we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were nice except that you have a wall air conditioner that was loud. The pool was nice & lots of restaurants nearby. Breakfast was also nice. They had a lot of options for a free hotel breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We looked at Priceline.com and saw that there was a room for $89. We called Quality Inn and they quoted a price of $120. They did not offer up that price until asked. I would expect good customer service would tell you if there was a cheaper room when you are a tourist and just looking for an overnight stay. Then they tacked on 1/3 in fees which seemed excessive. There was a foul smell in the lobby, however it all appeared clean. The attendant behind the counter seemed annoyed with us, and gave incorrect directions to a restaurant. There is no elevator if you get a room on the 2nd floor. The room was good however the air conditioner was loud and had to be cranked to high to cool the room. Continental breakfast was good but little seating. It would not be our first choice if we were to be back in the Mitchell SD area again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We (family with kids) stayed in the Quality Inn while passing through the area on a road trip across country to CA. When we travel, we are not looking for anything fancy or expensive, just a decent, clean place to lay our heads for the night. This hotel had a few good points: the room was clean, comfy beds, it has an indoor pool/hot tub which was open late and laundry facilities. The rooms are older but nice and the area around the hotel had lots of food choices available for a quick/ easy dinner. Now the problems: The hotel exterior is terrible, it needs a major face lift...for some, myself included, this is rather minor since you don't sleep in the lobby but it should be noted. I am sure many will be turned off by the exterior. Also, the fridge in our room did not work and the Wifi does not work in the room, you have to go to the lobby to use the Wifi- a major pain.

Bottom line- would we stay here again? Probably not. The lack of in-room Wifi and broken fridge was a major problem for us. I am sure you can find better hotels for the same price point in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The exterior of the building is decieving. Inside is nicely updated. Clean rooms and we enjoyed the breakfast which was kept open later than stated. We had the pool to ourselves and the hot tub was HOT. Sauna was out of service. Located right off the interstate next to a 24 hour Perkins and other restaurants. We slept really well here and recommend it as a great value and a good stop on the way to the Black Hills. We left feeling refreshed and refueled.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stopped here to stay on the way home from our out west road trip. We had a king size bed on the 2nd floor. The room was VERY clean and the decor was up to date and neutral colors. The bed was very comfortable, and we slept great! The breakfast was your basic cereal, waffle, etc. The coffee was pretty good. The front desk lady who checked us in at around 10pm was not helpful when it came to getting on the wifi here. In fact, the wifi here sucks. The signal was spotty and seemed to work best if you sat by the window in your room or down in the lobby. I couldn't get my computer to keep a signal which was frustrating. The front desk lady was useless when it came to this. For some reason they have like 5 networks that you could possibly connect to and surprisingly it was the front desk one that you connect to. Really, this is my only complaint. The hotel itself is very comfortable and CLEAN. Yes, there isn't an elevator, but there are only 2 floors and not that many stairs to walk up. If you have a problem with stairs, then be sure to get a 1st floor room. Also, we asked for a quiet room, and I would say the 2nd floor near the back of the hotel is VERY quiet. Like I said, we slept well. If we are ever passing through again, then we would stop here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I try to stay at Choice Hotel's because they usually are pretty good. Strike out here. No elevator so that means lugging your bags up the stairs. The breakfast was more like what you would see at a Super 8. We hit the gas station instead. The beds were comfortable, so that helped. Shower was okay, but short. We used the pool and the hot tub. The pool had peeling paint and residue on the bottom. We kept standing on "stuff". Gross. Only half of the jets worked in the hot tub. When you turned on the timer, you could hear a machine turn on in one of the side rooms. Normally it's not that bad, however this one had an irritating whine to it the ENTIRE TIME. Next time I will pay the extra $35 and stay at the Comfort Inn down the road.

Room Tip: Pick the first floor ---- no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Spent a night here on a two week road trip and found this to be a very comfortable stay. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for dinner. Room was nicely done and very clean. While not much in Mitchell, if passing through, this is a good place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1221 S Burr St, Mitchell, SD 57301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Mitchell
Mitchell Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.