We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Stay on Way to from Black Hills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2020 Highland Way, Interstate 90 exit 332. right on Hwy 37, Mitchell, SD 57301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Mitchell
Midwest, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really Nice Stay on Way to from Black Hills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Nice hotel in Mitchell on way back from Black Hills. Will stay at this hotel again. Very clean room. We reserved a "suite" for give people (two kids) and it was plenty big for us. Good high speed internet. Excellent breakfast buffet with helpful staff. Pool pirate play area is excellent for kids.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    27
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
50
22
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

It wasn't the fault of the staff actually, but the manager, who decided to send one of the three staff members on duty home. On a night the hotel was booked solid and full of teenagers from a sports convention in town. Really not the best choice. Parking lot is poorly arranged and is shared with another hotel, which makes for horrible traffic flow. The room was just average, with poor quality bed linens and a very cheap bedspread. At least the A/C worked well enough. You can tell from the wear and tear on the place that it needs to be updated to keep quality with the Hampton next door and the Holiday Inn Express across the street. Evidently since all of them were sold out, maybe they don't feel the need. This wasn't our first choice, and it certainly won't be next time either. This was an OK stay, but nothing about it made me want to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

This hotel is clean, updated, and has friendly service. It is right off the interestate easy to find with a small indoor waterpark for younger children. The price is average. The rooms are large and have a fridge and microwave.The only drawback is I like the sink to be outside the bath area so two people can get ready at once. The breakfast is decent but not much table area to sit. Overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed there and it was one of the nicest places we have every stayed at. Our room was spacious and very clean. The kids enjoyed the slide and pool alot. We would stay there again.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint martin mn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

The Comfort Inn in Mitchell, SD, provided the perfect stay for our overnight enroute to the Black Hills. My family and I slept well in the comfortable beds; the hotel was clean; the breakfast was yummy; and the pool area, with the water slide, was a big hit with the kids.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

If you are looking for a clean, modern, comfortable place to stay, then this is the place. We pass by this area once a year and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed one night in this hotel and I am sure my son would have liked to have stayed much longer! We were surprised to see an amazing winding water slide jetting out of the building when we pulled up! My son had so much fun! (there is a lifeguard on duty as well, he was very nice!) The rooms were very clean, the beds comfy and the breakfast had a good selection! This looked like a new hotel. We did go to the Corn Palace when we left, but found that you really only need to drive by, don't waste your time going in as not much to see. TIP: if you have a Sam's Club card, you get a discount on the room rate when you call to make your reservation! Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 2020 Highland Way, Interstate 90 exit 332. right on Hwy 37, Mitchell, SD 57301
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Numerous amenities including an indoor waterpark featuring a 200 foot waterslide, pirate themed children's splash pool, and whirlpool. Each guest room features a refrigerator and microwave, wireless Internet access, pillow-top mattresses, 32" flat-panel television, iron/ironing board, and hair dryer. Our hotel is the only 100% nonsmoking, pet-free hotel in the city of Mitchell. Complimentary continental breakfast. Connected to the Highland Conference Center and adjacent to numerous dining options. One block south of I-90 exit 332. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Mitchell
Comfort Inn Mitchell
Mitchell Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.