We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell to your Saves list
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 S Burr Street, Mitchell, SD 57301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

The outside of the lodge looked a bit tired when we drive up, but the desk staff was terrific--really helpful in every way. We had an interior room on the first floor near the lobby, and when we got to our room we were really happy. Someone had really thought about how to decorate the room nicely given the budget, and we were quite comfortable. Our room was spotless, and we felt like it was the best room we have had for that modest price in a long, long time. If we came this way again we would stay there without question. It is right off the interstate with lots of food options within walking distance, and there is a K-Mart nearby (2 blocks) to pick up any supplies for the roadtrip. Breakfast was typical for motels.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    46
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
36
39
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Loved the individual log cabin rooms. Very clean and spacious. The breakfast that was included was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We HIGHLY recommend this hotel. It was very clean, quiet, and a great value. They also offer a military discount with your military ID. The check in was efficient and everything in the room was in working order.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in for the night. The hotel was adequate for our needs. The room appeared clean but dated. The tv was the old box style but we were so tired we didn't even turn it on. There is no pool but I noticed an indoor hot tub. This hotel also has an in house laundrymat and liquor store which I found odd but I guess it may appeal to others. The staff was friendly. The doors had real keys rather than cards which was slightly unsettling. Breakfast was basic but fresh. Overall it was fine for a night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocono'Mtn, Pa.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just a quick stop . Check in, go to dinner,. get some sleep and continue our trip in the morning. Great value for the money. Plenty of restaurants in the area so we had no trouble finding a place to eat. left in the morning well rested and continued our trip . We did not use the swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We were surprised that this place was pretty nice, overall. While it is old and seems lost in the 1950's, it was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Breakfast was sparse, but enough the get us going in the morning. The clerks were friendly and helpful, and we had a coupon for a cheaper rate. This is not your high end hotel, but we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teguzco
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

At first glance, the Thunderbird seemed adequate to our needs. The double room was spacious, the refrigerator cold and the lighting a bit dim. But the closer we looked, the less we liked it. The hot tub was cloudy, the door to the room stuck and it seemed as if some of the guests were long term residents. How else explain the women watching television in the lobby, chatting with the desk clerk as we came in the first evening? That in itself is not really a problem. Being "shushed" by them as we chatted on our way to our room was.

The beds were marginal. The Wi-Fi was erratic, the connection coming and going. More problematic was the fact that our iPods couldn't connect at all because logging on required a two step process: selecting a router and then starting the browser to log on at a third party website. It may be possible but we couldn't manage it with anything other than our laptop - which wouldn't stay connected except when used in the breakfast area.

Speaking of breakfast: it's advertised as a "deluxe continental breakfast" but wasn't anything more than donuts, cereal and toaster waffles.

Television is standard definition with cable and a fair selection of channels.

The bath was small but clean, though the shampoo packets that require you tear them open with wet hands were a challenge.

Lighting is a pet peeve. Ideally, each person will have a light to read by. Here, as at so many other motels, there were two lights located between the two beds. Those of us on the outside of the beds did not have sufficient light for reading.

If all you want is a low price at a motel just off the freeway, the Thunderbird may work for you. But low prices were the rule at many of the area motels in mid-May, 2012. What drew us there were the things that didn't work for us when we arrived. We won't be staying there on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

Address: 1601 S Burr Street, Mitchell, SD 57301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunderbird Lodge is a locally owned and independently operated motel. We are dedicated to hospitality and service at an incredible value. We feature an expanded continental breakfast, on-site Liquor Store, hot tub and sauna, and clean, comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Mitchell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.